PDA

View Full Version : upgrading imac G3



hayley
10th October 2005, 02:42 PM
I am new to using macs, and have recently purchased a G3 imac. I need to upgrade my operating system from 10.1.4 to 10.2.8, but have no idea how to go about it or even if my machine can be upgraded to 10.2.8. Can anyone help?

tommelbourne
10th October 2005, 02:53 PM
Yes, your machine can go to 10.2.8, but it is also able to run 10.3.9, a more advanced version of OS X. It is probably more worthwhile to go straight to 10.3.9 (also known as 'Panther').

In order to upgrade your operating system, you will need to go out and purchase the OS you wish to upgrade to. You should (i think) be able to find a copy of 10.3 at your local AppleCentre, but you will probably have to ask for it specially. 10.2 will be a lot harder to source if you still wish to just go to 10.2.8.

Once you have this, all you need to do is insert disk one into your computer and double-click on the 'Install Mac OS X' icon when it appears. This will then reboot your computer, and load up the install program, where you can choose which type of installation you would like to undertake. You should probably choose 'Erase and Install', as this will do a completely clean install and have your iMac running at its best.

Once your new OS is up-and-running, you will need to run the Software Update utility (presuming you have access to the net), where any updates that need to be installed will be downloaded for you, including the 10.3.9 updater if the install disks you used were of an older version.

Hope that helps, if you would like more info then please just ask for it, giving the full specs of your system would also help a lot.

Cheers,

Tom

hayley
10th October 2005, 02:58 PM
Thank you - I'm looking on ebay now. My mac is a g3 iMac, 6G hdd, 160mb RAM and 333mhz (whatever that is - I'm still learning!).

step_andy
10th October 2005, 03:00 PM
Whilst hunting for software, keep your eye for extra RAM. Your machine will benefit with additional 256 or go extra 512 if your budget allows.

Your mac has relatively small hard drive. Make sure that you do not install all the options with OS X, such as language support, printer drivers to save on HD space.

tommelbourne
10th October 2005, 03:02 PM
Cool. You have what are known as one of the 'Five Flavours' iMac G3's, which will easily run 10.2.8. 10.3.9 is also known to work on your system and is officially supported by Apple to do so, but wether your system would cope better with 10.2 or 10.3 i do not know. With more RAM i would recommend 10.3 but as you have a fairly small amount of RAM (which is upgradeable, by the way) i am guessing 10.2 would be a better option if you can find it. Perhaps someone else with more experience in running the various OS X versions on early iMacs will be able to give you more info on what OS you should be aiming for.

tommelbourne
10th October 2005, 03:07 PM
Originally posted by step_andy@Oct 10 2005, 03:00 PM
Make sure that you do not install all the options with OS X, such as language support, printer drivers to save on HD space.
I didn't know you could change these! If i had known you could skip installing these, my B&W with its puny 6gig HDD would be much better off!

iMick
10th October 2005, 03:10 PM
I have an iMac G3 350Mhz running as my bittorrent machine. It is running 10.3.9 remarkable well!. A few tips from my experience:

1. Must upgrade hard drive! Firstly 6Gb is useless and secondly, it is an old slooooow 5400rpm one. I am running a maxtor 80Gb with 8mb cache. Really helps overall performance.

2. Need at least 256Mb of RAM to run panther. 512 is highly recommend if you want to run multiple apps.

3. Remember you need a firmware upgrade to run OSX! (you may need to install OS9 to do this)

It never ceases to amaze me how well these old machines run todays apps (within reason) I reckon a comparable PC would probably not even run windows XP!

hayley
10th October 2005, 03:16 PM
I have found both 10.2 and 10.3 on ebay - will give them a shot. How do you upgrade RAM?

Paxton
10th October 2005, 03:25 PM
Hayley,

Go for 10.3. I had that running on a Lime (Green) version of the same computer for 12 months, before donating the computer to a Family member.

This Article (http://www.appletalk.com.au/articles/index.php?article=436) discusses how to upgrade a HDD in an iMac. I understand it is not a Tray Load, however they are similar inside.

To upgrade the memory is a similar process (you need to take out the main computer), and This Artricle (http://docs.info.apple.com/article.html?artnum=43012) outlines how.

-Andrew

Disko
10th October 2005, 03:26 PM
edit: beaten by paxtonandrew ;)

tommelbourne
10th October 2005, 03:30 PM
EDIT: Beaten by BOTH paxtonandrew and Disko :( I figure the videos are useful, so will just leave it all. Sorry!


You will need to buy a stick of RAM - for your machine, you need a "PC66 144-pin SO-DIMM". If you go to your local AppleCentre and ask them for it, they should be able to help you out.

Then check out this page here:

http://docs.info.apple.com/article.html?artnum=43012

Or these videos:

http://www.info.apple.com/usen/cip/html/im...y1-cip.mov.html (http://www.info.apple.com/usen/cip/html/imac/imacorig-memory1-cip.mov.html)
http://www.info.apple.com/usen/cip/html/im...y2-cip.mov.html (http://www.info.apple.com/usen/cip/html/imac/imacorig-memory2-cip.mov.html)

It details how to install the RAM, should you choose to do it yourself.

LCGuy
10th October 2005, 03:40 PM
Originally posted by hayley@Oct 10 2005, 02:58 PM
Thank you - I'm looking on ebay now. My mac is a g3 iMac, 6G hdd, 160mb RAM and 333mhz (whatever that is - I'm still learning!).
I have the same machine as you, only with a bigger hard drive, and i run Jaguar (10.2.8) on it, and it runs perfectly. No complaints here. :) Although if i were you I would probably stay away from Panther...it gave my iMac a near-death experience last year.

hayley
10th October 2005, 03:40 PM
Thanks for all the help everyone - think I'm ready to rock on upgrading my iMac now. I'm a bit dangerous with hand tools so if you hear about some girl getting electrocuted in the next couple of days it will probably be yours truly! Fingers crossed it all goes well, and thanks again - I was really struggling.

Hayley

LCGuy
10th October 2005, 03:55 PM
You'll be fine, the dangerous parts of the machine are in a completely different part from where you will be working, the machine was designed to be upgraded by consumers.

step_andy
10th October 2005, 03:59 PM
Originally posted by iMick@Oct 10 2005, 03:10 PM

3. Remember you need a firmware upgrade to run OSX! (you may need to install OS9 to do this)


Yes, yes, yes!!!
Before install OS X make sure you have the latest firmware and this can be done only in OS 9 or OS 8
http://docs.info.apple.com/article.html?artnum=60384
(not 100% sure that this is the right one for your iMac)
andy

LCGuy
10th October 2005, 04:14 PM
Yep, thats the right one for hayley's iMac. You'll need to do it in OS 8 as you need it to run OS 9.

tommelbourne
10th October 2005, 05:14 PM
Originally posted by step_andy+Oct 10 2005, 03:59 PM--></div><table border='0' align='center' width='95%' cellpadding='3' cellspacing='1'><tr><td>QUOTE (step_andy &#064; Oct 10 2005, 03:59 PM)</td></tr><tr><td id='QUOTE'> Yes, yes, yes&#33;&#33;&#33;
Before install OS X make sure you have the latest firmware and this can be done only in OS 9 or OS 8
http://docs.info.apple.com/article.html?artnum=60384
(not 100% sure that this is the right one for your iMac)
andy [/b]

<!--QuoteBegin-LCGuy@Oct 10 2005, 04:14 PM
Yep, thats the right one for hayley&#39;s iMac. You&#39;ll need to do it in OS 8 as you need it to run OS 9. [/quote]

Uhh, it already has 10.1.4 on it, so wouldn&#39;t it just be ready-to-go for any version of OSX?

Paxton
10th October 2005, 05:19 PM
Originally posted by tommelbourne@Oct 10 2005, 05:14 PM
Uhh, it already has 10.1.4 on it, so wouldn&#39;t it just be ready-to-go for any version of OSX?
Exactly. Disregard anything the &#39;know it alls&#39; have written above. It helps if you read the original post before shooting off at the mouth. Just go ahead an run the upgrades (HDD and Memory) and then install Panther on the computer. Nothing to worry about in terms of Firmware updates.

-Andrew