PDA

View Full Version : DNS Server Auto change



chaosboi
16th September 2010, 12:58 PM
My internet has been doing strange things over the last two days.

I have just noticed that my DNS Sever keeps on changing on reboot to 168.95.1.1

This is not my service providers, TPG or any IP that I know.

Also Messenger wont connect and I have issues with my @mac email in mail and can't connect to me.com!

glacierdave
16th September 2010, 03:01 PM
Once your DNS is wrong, most Internet-related things are going to have problems.

The real issue is why it's changing.

Try backing up the config on your router, reseting to factory defaults and then reloading the config. If something was slightly wonky that may fix it. If not, restore to factory defaults and configure manually. (Assuming that your router is responsible for DHCP and is managing things like your DNS settings.)

If you're only talking one computer there's also a chance that there's some sort of corruption of the computer network settings (or malware active) instead.

chaosboi
16th September 2010, 03:37 PM
I change everything back to my default DNS, and factory reset my modem...It seems fine again, but no idea why it changed. Scary!

I still can't access me.com or apple.com and my @mac wont work, but it does work if I change my IP with a VPN!

The change of IP fixes everything, not sure why. I'm on a static plan though :(

iPirate
16th September 2010, 07:16 PM
Didn't let a mate use your computer to try to view porn or lolcat videos perhaps? There are some pages out there that show a youtube-like interface but complain of a missing codec, the codec provided changes the DNS servers using a 5-minute-looping cron script being run by the executable part of the codec.

Check your console logs for recurring messages?

chaosboi
16th September 2010, 11:01 PM
Didn't let a mate use your computer to try to view porn or lolcat videos perhaps? ?

I have heard about this trojan, and have never agreed to installing a 'missing codec' so unless something installed it's self, which I don't think can happen on a mac, that's not it.

My modem has just dies, so hopefully it was playing up...it was just a very weird DNS address to appear, it traced to asia.