PDA

View Full Version : Tactics for cheap macs

sparky13
26th August 2010, 07:48 AM
Ok so I'm looking to buy a macbook pro in a month or two but as I'm a high school student I'd love to save as much money as possible. What do you recommend I do to get the cheapest price possible. I was originally going to go refurb but I'm wondering if I can get a new macbook pro close to that price anyway. So, the macbook pro I'm looking at is the base model $1499 one that DSE is currently selling at $1399. Think it's possible to get them down to $1299?

gehenna
26th August 2010, 07:52 AM
You might be eligible for the student pricing, look into that.

sparky13
26th August 2010, 07:53 AM
Nah :( Sadly not. I'm in high school not uni/tafe :( Wish I was though. Another thing I thought of was to get someone who works at woolies to get me an extra 5% off at DSE. Does that work or is that 5% off RRP?

The_Hawk
26th August 2010, 08:08 AM
The best price your likely to get is about 10% off an Apple product. I have bought my last two MBP's from DSE and asked for 10% and got it. That makes the base model 13" MBP $1,350. If you can get a better price than that I'd say your doing bloody well.

As for the 5%, you can always try to get it tacked on as well, especially if it's one of those swipe at POS deals that automatically takes off 5%... But then I don't know how their deals work. No harm in walking in and asking the sales guy for 10% then hitting up the checkout person (who is normally a different person) for the 5% after the fact. That would bring it down to $1,282.50 ... theoretically.

JuggaloG
26th August 2010, 09:55 AM
being a high school student dont you get an awesome rebate from the government for buying a laptop for "school"?

paronga
26th August 2010, 10:30 AM
the woolies card is a swipe at POS type thing.

I'd try and get the education discount through a friend or something. Or wait till you are a uni student.

dekco
26th August 2010, 10:30 AM