PDA

View Full Version : Partitioning Ext HDD



zigzagler
25th August 2010, 08:43 AM
I have an ext 1TB HDD which I've partitioned into 2 section, 500GB for TimeMachine & 500GB for SuperDuper.

I then realised I don't actually need so much for my clone backup and I'm just wanting to split out that 500GB partition into 2 & I don't mind re-running the whole clone backup again. Any tips on doing that?

Cheers!

mmulhern
25th August 2010, 09:00 AM
DiskUtility for 10.5+ will allow you to dynamically/non-destructively resize partitions, as long as the drive is not partitioned as MBR.

Also, you can't operate on the partition if it is on the drive you booted the machine with.

zigzagler
25th August 2010, 11:25 AM
So if I split out the existing 500GB which I use for Bootable copy of my MBP HD, I can't use it to boot up anymore?

I don't mind losing the data now as I can always rebuild it up.

I was thinking of creating 3 separate drive instead of 2 now... 500GB, 250GB, 250GB.