PDA

View Full Version : Downloading Applications

TimAnAussie
21st September 2005, 08:36 AM
I download a pprogram and it shows on my desktop as an image and a dmg file.
I drag the image into Applications Folder.
THen i drag the image from the Desktop into Trash ,,,, now the application in my applications folder turns into an Alias ???
What am i doing wrong ,, i even followed the example in Articles

froggy
21st September 2005, 08:39 AM
I'm no expert, but I think that you missed some stuff. You should not drag the dmg to your applications folder. Rather, the dmg should have expanded and then you can take the expanded file/folder to your applications folder.

HTH

emacmark
21st September 2005, 08:45 AM
Thats exactly what I do froggy :thumbup:

edit Tim, when you downloaded the file, it sounds like you have ended up with a .dmg. You have to open it (expand) it and then you should see the application you need to drag to your applications folder. Usually, there is also a README file, which is what you should do before going any further.

soulman
21st September 2005, 12:09 PM
Originally posted by TimAnAussie@Sep 21 2005, 08:36 AM
THen i drag the image from the Desktop into Trash ,,,, now the application in my applications folder turns into an Alias ???
It doesn't change to an alias after you trash the original. Dragging a mounted disk image (or any disk for that matter) always creates an alias - watch the icon as you do it (you'll get a little curved arrow near the bottom left) & check the resulting item after you've done the drag.

To copy the image - which is what you are attempting to do and which is a fair enough way to do drag & drop app installs - hold the Option key while dragging. This is not the way that is described in the article on how to install apps on this site, btw.

Disko
21st September 2005, 03:09 PM
You're almost there Tim. What you're forgetting to do is to open the image and drag what is inside it to applications - not the image itself.