PDA

View Full Version : Using D-Sub/VGA to DVI adapter?



thinkquick
27th June 2010, 10:38 PM
Hi people!
I need some help with connecting a new external monitor.

My MacBook (late 2008) is working fine with an external monitor.
I use a mini displayport to DVI converter I picked up from dealextreme.

My new monitor isn't working.
It's a Benq V2400 Eco, and it has only HDMI and D-Sub inputs.

I thought I could add a DVI to D-Sub converter to the mix and it would work.
My MacBook detects the monitor and even knows it is a Benq V2400 Eco, but the monitor stays blank and the power light flashes orange.

I push the source select button on the monitor and the menu tells me it is going to use D-Sub as the input, but no go, unfortunately.

Here is a pic of my chain of convertors.

Any advice?

http://posterous.com/getfile/files.posterous.com/thinkquick/JRBIuPYysHo7aOOOPDfbUVZNlDtghID9BYoYVmJT7uw4Gu4K68 bBKvLZK6au/2010_10_14_07_PM.jpg.scaled.1000.jpg

decryption
27th June 2010, 10:43 PM
You need the mini-DP to VGA cable - I don't think a VGA signal is transmitted over the mini-DP to DVI cable.

Alternatively, a MiniDP to HDMI cable would be good too - it would be the best option actually.

thinkquick
27th June 2010, 10:55 PM
So it's the mini-DP to DVI filtering out the signal?

I was going to buy a mini-DP to HDMI anyway, but I was hoping my workaround would work for now.

What a pain that the BenQ V2400Eco doesn't have a DVI connection.

I just connected the monitor to my Windows box. It has only DVI out so I had to use the same converter (the red one). It works fine.

I wonder if the mini-DP would have worked if I had got the $45 Apple one..

thinkquick
27th June 2010, 11:03 PM
I wonder if a DVI to HDMI convertor would work 'for now' ?

fompsweeva
28th June 2010, 01:31 AM
I had issues with my parents Samsung LCD TV. Had VGA input, I have a miniDP -> VGA adaptor. Macbook Pro sees the screen but won't give it an image.

Even updated the firmware of the adaptor. (Yes, those adaptors have firmware believe it or not!) to no avail.

MightyAtom
28th June 2010, 03:15 AM
I wonder if a DVI to HDMI convertor would work 'for now' ?

Yeah, it should. The signal sent over DVI and HDMI are the same, at least for Single-Link DVI.

thinkquick
28th June 2010, 11:53 AM
Thanks guys for the help. Much appreciated.

thinkquick
28th June 2010, 03:56 PM
I got a DVI to HDMI plug from Jaycar.
They had two and I chose the one with male HDMI. That way, I can use the existing DVI cable.

However, this has caused a different problem. With the converter attached, the cord can't fit into the HDMI port. The plastic for the monitor stand is in the way. Doh. (see pic).

http://posterous.com/getfile/files.posterous.com/temp-2010-06-27/EelHbeoaxebuAptuBhkfpyCvEkeeoGjADqnFEfghyxfmAicoxt kjxqqtFJei/2010_3_36_53_PM.jpg.scaled1000.jpg

So.. I'll see if I can swap it for the plug with female HDMI then get another HDMI cable as well. Or maybe a little HDMI extension cord? Although that would seem wasteful.

decryption
28th June 2010, 04:40 PM
haha, just get a miniDP to HDMI adaptor: 1.8M 6ft Mini Displayport to HDMI cable male to male - eBay, Cables, Apple Accessories, Parts, Computers. (end time 03-Jul-10 11:34:53 AEST) (http://cgi.ebay.com.au/1-8M-6ft-Mini-Displayport-HDMI-cable-male-male-/260625894328?cmd=ViewItem&pt=AU_Computers_Apple_Parts_Accessories&hash=item3cae838bb8)

darrenmars
28th June 2010, 08:39 PM
I'm in a similar situation, just bought a Griffin MiniDP to HDMI converter, already have an HDMI cable. Will let you know how it goes when it get here in a day or two.

I'd rather adapt the MiniDP to component TBH. My old amp only switches video in analog, doesn't support digital inputs. The monitor out on the amp is component which is absolutely fine on my "piddly little" 24-inch telly. I don't see the point in going to full HD unless I have a stupidly large screen, for me personally. I'm happy with awesome sound and a very good picture.

Anyway, if this doesn't keep me happy then I might consider the MiniDP to VGA adaptor and a VGA-Component breakout cable (http://www.cablechick.com.au/cables/component-to-vga.htm), but then again I'm anal about cables and I'd rather not adapt from one to another etc...

~Coxy
29th June 2010, 10:33 AM
Those basic cables won't do anything for your setup. They are mere pin adaptors, and very expensive ones at that.
You will need a "VGA Box" active adaptor that literally converts the video signal to component.

http://www.mayflash.com/vgabox/vga001/imgages/1.jpg