PDA

View Full Version : IPhone 3G not booting up after iOS4 upgrade. Please Help!!!



crazy4iphone
27th June 2010, 12:56 PM
Hi Guys,
I upgraded to iOS 4 and thought everything would be smooth. Turns out, it gave me a few errors and didn't go through fine. I somehow cleared those errors by Googling and completed the install. The phone would then randomly hang.

By searching more, found out that if you get rid of your backup and take it all up, all from scratch, then it works fine.

So I restored to factory defaults on iOS4 and started building up my library. It all went fine and just when it got completed and I was trying to open the 'Settings' app, again the phone Hang.

I rebooted it through several ways and it just doesn't come up at all. it stays at the apple symbol with the 'i am thinking' circle.

Connected it to ITunes and did the hold+Home trick. Nothing at all. Doesn't boot up with or without connecting to ITUNES. doesnt even get that far for windows to recognize it. Need help. how do I get it to boot or recognize in ITUNES?

NathR32
27th June 2010, 01:00 PM
Do you have the latest version of iTunes? (iTunes 9.2)

crazy4iphone
27th June 2010, 06:37 PM
Yes still the same...............:(

darksplat
27th June 2010, 06:53 PM
OK do this first

How to Hard Reset an iPhone - wikiHow (http://www.wikihow.com/Hard-Reset-an-iPhone)

Then do this

How To Put The iPhone Into DFU Mode (http://limitededitioniphone.com/how-to-put-the-iphone-into-dfu-mode/)

then do a full restore not a backup restore. If that doesnt work do it again till it does.

nando
27th June 2010, 08:50 PM
note the iphone 3G will run so freaking slow..but thats because whenever you open an app..it doesnt get shut down...
and because it doesnt support multitasking there is no easy way to shut down the app..
before ios 4 i would normally have like 34Mb of memory...after ios4 i have 2Mb...
i jailbroke my 3g so that it takes all ios 4 goodness (ie multitasking) and the only way to properly shutdown apps is my shutting them down when you switch to the multitasking screen...
ATM thats the only way i can have a functional phone every time i launch an app i have to make sure i shut it down at the multitasking level otherwise the phone will just run like a turtle... :(

twombles_62
27th June 2010, 09:27 PM
note the iphone 3G will run so freaking slow..but thats because whenever you open an app..it doesnt get shut down...
and because it doesnt support multitasking there is no easy way to shut down the app..
before ios 4 i would normally have like 34Mb of memory...after ios4 i have 2Mb...
i jailbroke my 3g so that it takes all ios 4 goodness (ie multitasking) and the only way to properly shutdown apps is my shutting them down when you switch to the multitasking screen...
ATM thats the only way i can have a functional phone every time i launch an app i have to make sure i shut it down at the multitasking level otherwise the phone will just run like a turtle... :(

I hope that no one else reads this post. If you do, please ignore it or you may experience a loss in IQ.

crazy4iphone
29th June 2010, 07:13 AM
OK do this first

How to Hard Reset an iPhone - wikiHow (http://www.wikihow.com/Hard-Reset-an-iPhone)

Then do this

How To Put The iPhone Into DFU Mode (http://limitededitioniphone.com/how-to-put-the-iphone-into-dfu-mode/)

then do a full restore not a backup restore. If that doesnt work do it again till it does.

:laughing: Darksplat YOU ARE THE MASTER!!!!! I read so many different articles but never got through..........In fact I had been doing your step 1 so many times nothing changed and it would get stuck at Error 14.

I then did the step 2 for I think 2-3times and I think that 3rd time I got the sequence right and it did exactly as it was meant to be doing without any errors.

I think as long as MACTALK community is alive and active here pretty much there isnt any need for Apple store geniuses.........

This was of great help....................

Thanks a lot to DarkSplat.
You are awesome. It has worked fine I have synced my library (didnt worry about the back up built up a new fresh one) and so far so good.
Booted the phone several times works like a GEM now. If any issues i ll let you guys know.............
:thumbup::thumbup:

mattmac
29th June 2010, 12:20 PM
It runs like crap on my 3G :( waiting the iphone 4 release now...

anyone know how to restore it to the previous o/s? I tried a backup with no luck and no previous firmware stored on my mac it seems?

supermariobothers
29th June 2010, 01:38 PM
hey mattmac - heres the guide I used to do mine:


Downgrade iPhone OS 4.0 Beta1 to iPhone OS 3.1.3 Firmware | Gadgets DNA (http://www.gadgetsdna.com/downgrade-iphone-os-4-0-beta1-to-iphone-os-3-1-3-firmware/2045/)

I agree i0s4 on 3G is nooooooo good.

mattmac
29th June 2010, 01:42 PM
Thanks so much mate! Very helpful... my work phone is a 3gs so having both that i use all the time the 3G is so damn frustrating on IOS4.

Edit. Sorry where can I download the 3.1.3 firmware?

supermariobothers
29th June 2010, 01:45 PM
No worries, - I just followed the instructions exactly and it worked fine.
Only problem was that I couldn't restore from backup afterwards, as all the backups I had were ios4.

supermariobothers
29th June 2010, 01:48 PM
Edit. Sorry where can I download the 3.1.3 firmware?

I grabbed mine from a torrent site if memory serves... but you should be able to find download links through google as well?

Edit: Found it here:

Download iPhone 3.1.3 Firmware | Redmond Pie (http://www.redmondpie.com/download-iphone-os-3.1.3-firmware-9140418/)

mattmac
5th July 2010, 02:59 PM
I grabbed mine from a torrent site if memory serves... but you should be able to find download links through google as well?

Edit: Found it here:

Download iPhone 3.1.3 Firmware | Redmond Pie (http://www.redmondpie.com/download-iphone-os-3.1.3-firmware-9140418/)

Sorry about hi-jack guys!

Appreciate your help supermariobothers! Worked, much better now.

supermariobothers
5th July 2010, 03:09 PM
No worries mate, glad to hear you got it working!

darksplat
15th July 2010, 10:44 PM
:laughing: Darksplat YOU ARE THE MASTER!!!!! I read so many different articles but never got through..........In fact I had been doing your step 1 so many times nothing changed and it would get stuck at Error 14.

I then did the step 2 for I think 2-3times and I think that 3rd time I got the sequence right and it did exactly as it was meant to be doing without any errors.

I think as long as MACTALK community is alive and active here pretty much there isnt any need for Apple store geniuses.........

This was of great help....................

Thanks a lot to DarkSplat.
You are awesome. It has worked fine I have synced my library (didnt worry about the back up built up a new fresh one) and so far so good.
Booted the phone several times works like a GEM now. If any issues i ll let you guys know.............
:thumbup::thumbup:

Happy to help