PDA

View Full Version : MacBook Pro -> iPad and iMac

inrainbows
16th June 2010, 03:56 PM
Has anybody made this switch or is considering it? Do you miss having a full powered portable? I find myself using my MBP less and less and rather than upgrade I thought maybe I would get an iMac instead for home use. I'm a uni student and mainly use my MBP as a glorified PDF reader when at uni (and procrastination machine :). I might keep the MBP until it dies as a dedicated music computer.

Am I overestimating the usability of the iPad? I am going to try it for a while but am interested in other peoples opinions/experiences.

gehenna
16th June 2010, 03:58 PM
Personally I swing the other way. Full powered 17" MBP and no desktop. I have had desktops for years but really I just don't need to be tied to one location, and the power of the MBP is great for my needs. Having an iPad would supplement that by meaning I could do quick tasks without needing to take out my MBP, or I could leave it set up as my desktop replacement from time to time without taking it with me.

ajbeardy
16th June 2010, 04:11 PM
I have a MBP 15" and an 24" Apple LED. I am thinking along the same lines of getting rid of both of these and buying a iMac and using the iPad for portable needs. When I bought the MBP I thought I would take it with me more but it just sits on the desk all hooked up.

I am also tempted to look at the new Mini and sell the MBP..

Lucas
16th June 2010, 05:25 PM
I have found since buying my iPad I haven't used my mbp and only rarely my iMac. I don't even think it's the new toy thing. It's just the net when and where I want it in a small package. The iMac I use for torrents & typing etc. Buying a bluetooth keyboard I would see the ability to ditch the mbp for sure and use the iMac even less. I think I will always have desktop & laptop though I'll just replace them less often. If I had no tech I would do what you have thought about - desktop & iPad easily.

kyte
16th June 2010, 05:28 PM