PDA

View Full Version : start up disk utility can't find hard drive



baz_101
14th June 2010, 10:37 AM
i recently started to get a problem with my macbook. when i start it up it takes for ever to start up. when it finally starts up it has a black screen with all these lines of text. iv read to go to utilities and then start up disk to fix the problem but when i go there it only has network start up and no hdd is found
can someone tell me what im doing wrong
thanks

dev_enter
14th June 2010, 11:40 AM
Fire up the Terminal and type:
nvram -x -p

Paste the results here.

baz_101
14th June 2010, 12:03 PM
adam-mcmasters-macbook:~ adammcmaster$ nvram -x -p
<?xml version="1.0" encoding="UTF-8"?>
<!DOCTYPE plist PUBLIC "-//Apple//DTD PLIST 1.0//EN" "http://www.apple.com/DTDs/PropertyList-1.0.dtd">
<plist version="1.0">
<dict>
<key>BootCampHD</key>
<data>
AgEMANBBAwoAAAAAAQEGAAALAxIKAAAAAAAAAH//BAA=
</data>
<key>EFICapsule_Result</key>
<data>
U1RBUg==
</data>
<key>SystemAudioVolume</key>
<data>
Mg==
</data>
<key>boot-image</key>
<data>
AgEMANBBAwoAAAAAAQEGAAALAxIKAAAAAAAAAAQBKgABAAAAAA gAAAAAAAAwWDg6AAAA
AGeCIgAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAABAQQEGABlADQAZAAyADgAZgAwAD AAMAAAAH//BAA=
</data>
<key>efi-boot-device</key>
<data>
PGFycmF5PjxkaWN0PjxrZXk+QkxNQUNBZGRyZXNzPC9rZXk+PG RhdGE+QUNQZmlTOWc8
L2RhdGE+PGtleT5JT01hdGNoPC9rZXk+PGRpY3Q+PGtleT5JT1 Byb3ZpZGVyQ2xhc3M8
L2tleT48c3RyaW5nPklPTmV0d29ya0ludGVyZmFjZTwvc3RyaW 5nPjxrZXk+QlNEIE5h
bWU8L2tleT48c3RyaW5nPmVuMDwvc3RyaW5nPjwvZGljdD48L2 RpY3Q+PC9hcnJheT4A
</data>
<key>efi-boot-device-data</key>
<data>
AgEMANBBAwoAAAAAAQEGAAAKAwslAAAj34kvYAAAAAAAAAAAAA AAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAA
AAAAAH//BAA=
</data>
<key>prev-lang:kbd</key>
<data>
ZW46MTU=
</data>
</dict>
</plist>

dev_enter
14th June 2010, 12:11 PM
Hmmn,

Nothing weird in there.

You haven't installed a version of Mac OS X older than the one that originally shipped with your machine have you?

You say it only started happening recently, was this after a re-install or hard drive swap or anything like that?

baz_101
14th June 2010, 12:17 PM
the hard drive crashed and i took it to apple and they replaced it with a 80gb one and thats when it first started happening. i then changed the 80gb one out a few months after for a 500gb one i used carbon copy to swap everything over from the 80-500
so i don't know whats happened

dev_enter
14th June 2010, 01:17 PM
How was Mac OS X installed onto that 80GB drive?

baz_101
14th June 2010, 03:39 PM
i think it was off another hard drive. he took it out the back so i'm no entirely sure

dev_enter
15th June 2010, 06:50 PM
The only other time I've seen this issue, where you get a verbose output whilst booting even though you're not holding CMD+V nor do you have the -v boot-args set in nvram it was due to an incompatible version of Mac OS X being installed on the system.

The general rule is: Use the install discs provided with your system or retail versions of later operating systems only.

If, for example, your machine is a MacBook (13-inch Late 2007) (check https://selfsolve.apple.com/GetWarranty.do) and a retail version of Mac OS X 10.5 was used, it could well be incompatible as this machine shipped with an OS of a slightly later build.

baz_101
15th June 2010, 08:58 PM
ill give re installing the os a go and report how i went
thanks heaps

baz_101
16th June 2010, 04:57 PM
works perfectly now thanks

dev_enter
16th June 2010, 08:58 PM
No worries.
Pain in the butt to have to re-install, but I honestly don't think there would have been another solution. :)