PDA

View Full Version : Buying a MBP a few questions

aeidau
31st May 2010, 06:24 PM
Hi I'm Kieran,

I'm a windows user and I have been thinking about making the switch to a Macbook Pro 15" from a desktop. I'm in my first year of university and It's already been hard enough to find a free computer at Uni and thought it was about time I bought a laptop.
I have been looking at the Macbook Pro 15" i7 with the Hi-Res upgrade.

I have been in great discussion with my friends who own Macbooks about the Hi-res and Anti-Glare options. I have decided at it the Hi-Res option would be worthwhile as I currently run a large multi-monitor setup atm and I will be using Adobe suite and CAD software which benefits from a larger viewing area.
But the Anti-Glare option has got me undeceive. My friends both have the glossy screen Macbooks and the older model that has the Matte screen. My friends like the Gloss and don't think it is much of a hindrance. The new MPB looks really nice with the glossy screen. But as for the Anti-Glare option's Aluminium surround looks kinda ugly and the colours aren't as vibrant.
I will be using it on the train, at Uni and at home. What should I do?

I see that Apple offer SSDs (overpriced ones at that) But I have heard that OSX doesn't support Trim does OSX have anything similar or are they working on something? How does this affect the performance?

Solidworks is Windows only program and I was thinking of running dual boot Windows 7 to use it. I have looked into running a Virtual Machine but have seen it isn't as efficient as in computing power to run but it is easier to move files across. Anyone have any suggestions into VMs and how they work? I don't mind buying one.