PDA

View Full Version : Keyboard volume controls no longer work



jdagis
11th May 2010, 08:33 PM
I just noticed I can't control the volume in iTunes or anything else via the keyboard. All was working well a week ago. yes, I have installed the latest SL update a few days ago.

I'm using a 3 year old white apple keyboard on the latest intel mini.

Does anyone else have this problem? Any suggestions most welcome :)

soulman
11th May 2010, 09:44 PM
What if you hold the Function (fn) key down? Does it work then? Sometimes the setting can get toggled. I think you set it in the Keyboard PrefPane.

davidcolville
12th May 2010, 12:04 AM
Try changing the setting in System Preferences - Keyboard - as per the snapshot...

http://img.skitch.com/20100511-x2ctic7gm3nuxe1tbd8b3g4366.jpg

jdagis
12th May 2010, 06:50 AM
Thanks fellas. There's no function key on the wired apple keyboard (is on my macbook) and my keyboard preferences doesn't have those two options. It only has 'show keyboard and character viewer in menu bar.'
maybe I need a new keyboard? Mine may be older than 3 years, I thought I bought it when I got the 1st intel mini.

davidcolville
12th May 2010, 07:26 PM
If you enable the "Keyboard and Character Viewer" in the "Language and Text" System Preferences.

http://img.skitch.com/20100512-tn9u8qx7w8ea52d19cgg1f2me.jpg

Then Show Keyboard Viewer from the The INput Menu that shows up:

http://img.skitch.com/20100512-1wjp2w7n1k1k92iaxg8i6hbf83.jpg

Then push those keys you think are broken - see if they light up.

(or attach the keyboard to a different computer?)

jdagis
12th May 2010, 07:48 PM
Thanks keyoptions. The top row of 4 keys above the numeric keypad aren't there, so something's gone amiss since this last update. I tried restoring defaults, but the keys are still missing from keyboard viewer.

davidcolville
15th May 2010, 09:26 AM
Interesting - I also have put my hands on one of those keyboards, and those keys don't show up on my KeyBoard viewer either (but they work).

If you logout (from the Apple Menu) and try to adjust the Volume at login window - do they work? Also do you have another computer you could attach that keyboard to?

jdagis
16th May 2010, 10:20 AM
Have done your trial and they still don't work.