PDA

View Full Version : The Greek Meltdown - History revisited?

cosmichobo
8th May 2010, 01:16 AM
G'day,

Couldn't spot another thread on this...

I know it's been a decade plus since I studied WWI or WWII... but the events of the past few days in Greece have somehow made me wonder if we aren't now heading towards a similar kind of situation in Europe as has been seen before...

I know the causes of WWI were many and varied... but hearing of an entire country's potential economic collapse... and the attitude of the neighbouring countries who are helping them out... I just felt like I was sitting in a history class in the year 2050, hearing about the events that lead to...

Here's hoping things do sort themselves out... much as I'd love 5% interest rates again, another global economic crisis... or worse... I could do without. If nothing else, it'll mean more of Koshie on the tv. ;)

cheers

cosmic

Lutze
8th May 2010, 01:26 AM
I don't think we have to worry just yet. It's not like Athens has significant pull these days to force someone to defend it (let's face it, it cant' defend itself!).

As a friend of mine on twitter said... it's bloody stupid throwing a firebomb into a bank when you need the money.

samuelowens
8th May 2010, 01:34 AM
Certainly economic history is repeating itself.

One of the reasons why the Great Depression was as bad as it was is that countries did not want to move off the recently-restored gold standard (the gold standard allowed bank notes to be exchanged for gold, and was practised until the outbreak of WWI). In doing so, they needed to keep interest rates higher than they needed to be and budget deficits smaller, to ensure there would not be a run against their gold reserves. The austerity pushed countries into a worse position because it was pro-cyclical.