PDA

View Full Version : Updating Tiger Help

cheryltopsy
4th September 2005, 12:43 PM
Hi,
I am hoping for advise re updating to tiger from 10.3.9. I am happy with current OS, but like many, curious to update to the latest. I purchased a tiger upgrade disc.
Should I clone my current HD? Is this different to archive & install?
I bought a 200GB ext to back up all my OS, so can I clone & put tiger on ext HD & leave my Panther as is on my eMac?
I hope someone can advise a best method. I am a novice re all this techincal stuff, but reading through various forums has provoked some anxiety & I don't want to end up like the curious cat & stuff up my current OS.
Thanks,
Cheryltopsy.
(31/10/05)

emacmark
4th September 2005, 01:25 PM
If you connect your mac to ISDN via NT1+2 modem, dont upgrade all the way to 10.4.2. It breaks ISDN. Stop at 10.4.1
Mark

edit: On re reading your post, you dont seem too much of a novice. I would copy using carbon copy (http://www.bombich.com/software/ccc.html) my old OS to the external drive and start with a clean instal of 10.4 if your given that choice with the upgrade disk. Thats what I prefer to do.

Byrd
4th September 2005, 01:33 PM
Hi cheryltopsy,

As with upgrading any machine to a new operating system, it's best to backup your essential files just to make sure nothing goes wrong.

I've not had problems with an archive and install when upgrading to Tiger from 10.3.9 - basically this retains all your settings, Home folder, users and applications.

Upgrade to 10.4.2 as well :)

JB

Currawong
4th September 2005, 01:56 PM
10.3.9 is a very stable OS. 10.4 is somewhat more buggy - mainly you'll have to make sure you have the latest version of everything, especially anything that modifies the general functionality of the system, such as haxies.