PDA

View Full Version : Tiger Backup Script

hamlynt
28th August 2005, 10:44 PM
Hi all, I'm new to the Developer forum but have been working on a backup script to copy over my /Users folder and /Music collection to an external HD using rsync.

The main benefit of doing this using rsync and unix links is that you get full mirrors for each backup, but the storage space only amounts to current files plus any incremental changes. So you can have a string of backup folders named by date/time, each of which contains all of the backed up files, but uses very little storage due to the unchanged files being stored as links.

Anyway I found this quite a useful solution, my backup script is attached to this post, more instructions if you need them at www.tamham.com/software/ (http://www.tamham.com/software/).

And I should add my unix scripting is very elementary, any pointers or tips very welcome ;-)

Nevets_Anderson
4th September 2005, 09:46 AM
Nice bit of shell Scripting!

Have you thought about building your own app with this as the basis ?

You could do it with a basic applescript studio xcode project and wrap a lot of it around a do shell script type command use fields etc for input etc...

Must get off my butt and code more thanks for the insperation!

Nevets

hamlynt
5th September 2005, 09:58 PM
Nevets, thanks for the feedback. When I'm happy with the functionality of the script, I may have a go at replicating it in cocoa.

When putting this together I noticed that the Mac OS X Finder *does not* correctly report the size of folders which include unix links (anyone know why this is?). So in the Finder it might seem that your backup folder is getting very large, but actually it's not. The du command run at the end of the script gives the correct size used, and Get Info in Finder returns the correct amount of free disk space.

Nevets_Anderson
6th September 2005, 09:33 AM
Yeah I was thinking if you wanted to make it a little nicer and keep it cli based