PDA

View Full Version : What is the best VOIP solution



Dam355
4th March 2010, 09:56 AM
Hi i want to get voip for home use and i am looking to use an adapter. It is the Cisco PAP2T 2 Port VoIP Adapter. Does any one use this adapter?

I will be using Amnet for the voip ISP

What are people finding for the best Voip solution.

Cheers.

DeKa
4th March 2010, 10:51 AM
Buy a Siemens C470IP or C580IP. It is a cordless phone which has built in VOIP capabilities. Don't even bother with an ATA now, unless you have a very specific need (ie need a phone with HUGE buttons but still need the calls to go via VOIP).

The call quality you get with a dedicated IP phone is amazing.

toholio
4th March 2010, 12:32 PM
Hi i want to get voip for home use and i am looking to use an adapter. It is the Cisco PAP2T 2 Port VoIP Adapter. Does any one use this adapter?

I have one of those for three cordless phones we have in our house. Works fine but it's not as good as dedicated IP Phones. We have two Linksys SPA942 desk phones which are much better (4 lines, etc) but aren't cordless.


What are people finding for the best Voip solution.

Depends what you mean by "best". Best for me is a PBX that handles the phones inside the house as well as voicemail and other communications related stuff.

tcimac
4th March 2010, 01:33 PM
I have the Siemens Gigaset A580 IP set up with an extra handset.

Works brilliantly. Very clear etc..

My VSP is Maxo (http://www.maxo.com.au)- hope you get a good deal with your ISP compared to the MacTalk member deal (http://forums.mactalk.com.au/42/52876-voip-offer-mactalkers.html) Maxo provide?

Stevoid
4th March 2010, 01:55 PM
I use a Cisco 7970G but that's serious business VOIP gear.

I run that but if I am at my computer, I just run X-lite so I can use my headset :-)

tcimac
4th March 2010, 03:31 PM
I use a Cisco 7970G but that's serious business VOIP gear.

I run that but if I am at my computer, I just run X-lite so I can use my headset :-)

Are you running Snow Leopard?? Because X-Lite won't work for me in Snow Leopard??

Stevoid
4th March 2010, 04:39 PM
Nah, I'm running Leopard (long story :P) at the moment and use X-lite on windows and Leopard.

Another one to try is QuteCom - Welcome to the QuteCom developer's home (http://www.qutecom.org/) for mac :-)