PDA

View Full Version : Macbook/Macbook pro at the apple store

mtown
20th February 2010, 06:26 PM
Hi,

I am studying film + animation at uni soon. I will need a mac that can run CAD programs such as Maya and video editing programs such as Final Cut Pro, with ease. Question 1: Would either the macbook or the lower end macbook pro be sufficient?

Question 2 i am having trouble distinguishing the $200 difference between the lowest end macbook pro and the macbook.

REGULAR MACBOOK
* 2.26GHz Intel Core 2 Duo
* 2GB DDR3 memory
* 250GB hard drive1
* 8x double-layer SuperDrive
* NVIDIA GeForce 9400M graphics
* Built-in 7-hour battery2
* Polycarbonate unibody enclosure

* A$ 1,229.00

MACBOOK PRO
Intel Core 2 Duo 2.26GHz
2GB Memory
150GB Hard drive
SD card slot
Built in 7 hour battery
NVIDIA GeForce 9400M graphics

A$ 1,449

my main concern is despite the macbook pro being more expensive, it seems slightly inferior to the macbook (the macbook has 250gb hard drive compared to the 150 in macbook pro - all other specs seem idenitcal). Why? Are there other specifications that i am missing which would make the macbook pro superior? whats the point of buying that macbook pro if you can save 200$ and get a better computer (regular macbook)?

Also, is it possible to custom build your mac with extra ram or hard drive space? if so: expensive?

Any insight would be appreciated.

cosmichobo
20th February 2010, 06:46 PM
A lot of answers are to be found here:

http://forums.mactalk.com.au/24/73681-real-difference-between-macbook-13-low-end-macbook-pro.html

Basically the main thing is that the Macbook doesn't offer firewire or SD card slot. For video work, firewire is certainly a preference.

Admittedly I think the Macbook is now not as different since its latest revision, compared to the Pro...