PDA

View Full Version : Powerbook Recording With Gb

Chris_H
13th August 2005, 08:26 PM
I'm considering buying a powerbook for Music Recording
The recordings would just be to record my personal ideas before bringing them to the rest of the band. The recordings would not be intended for pro music production or distribution etc.

The tracks I would be producing would consist of drums bass guitars keys vocals etc, and I'm wondering if there would be any limitations on using garage band on the powerbook as opposed to a desktop mac.

What are your guy's opinons on the Powerbook and making music?
any limitations compared to a desktop mac?
would it be preferable to upgrade the RAM?

and also would i need to buy any extra periphirals to be able to connect instruments to the powerbook? someone suggested a Pro Tools Mbox, I'm new to this so not sure what I would need

Thanks guys

mac_man_luke
13th August 2005, 08:59 PM
A powerbook will handle it perfectly especially if you have like 1GB of ram or more

You will need to invest in an audio interface if you want more than 1 stereo ch or 2x mono

also you would probably want a small sound desk or preamps

marc
13th August 2005, 09:34 PM
PBs are great, depending on how many tracks you want to be able to record or how many plugins you want to be able to run. Chances are it'll be ample.

An external audio interface might be a good investment too, as it'd drastically increase the quality and can give you a couple of half-decent mic pres.

Chris_H
13th August 2005, 09:53 PM
thanks for the replys guys!

I've been watching the forums for a bit and marc you seem to be very helpful when it comes to music questions

because I'm new to all this I'm unsure of what an audio interface is, what to look for and how much to pay. It will just be for my personal recording use so I don't think I need anything too fancy

mac man luke mentioned a small sound desk and preamps. What do they do in this setup?