PDA

View Full Version : USA old iPhone and Optus 3G SIM

Shuzzi
6th January 2010, 08:45 AM
Firstly, my apologies as I am new to the iPhone and do not have much understanding of telco's.

A friend gave me an old iPhone that was originally purchased in the USA just before they were released in AUS.

It has been jail-broken and works fine as an iTouch (can register oniTunes/wifi works) but the device complains about the SIM. I have an Optus 3G SIM which I use in a Motorola phone and can browse/get email etc.

A colleague who has an Optus iPhone tried his SIM in my iPhone and same error message.

I am getting advice that my iPhone will only accept a 2G SIM (as the original iPhones only used 2G). Does this advice make sense? If so, does this mean I simply have to go to an Optus shop and ask them to change over my 3G SIM to a 2G SIM?

Any advice would be appreciated.

Wally
6th January 2010, 08:54 AM
What error are you talking about?

Shuzzi
6th January 2010, 09:02 AM
When I put in the SIM, in the top left the message No Service appears.

Wally
6th January 2010, 10:22 AM
Its not unlocked, not 100% sure how to unlock it from US Networks via jailbreak

Shuzzi
6th January 2010, 10:39 AM
I was thinking the same thing.........the original owner had it jail-broken and he was working fine with it (we are pretty sure he had a Telstra SIM). I need a telco savvy guy who just doesn't want to sell me something.

~Coxy
6th January 2010, 10:57 AM
On a 2G model, you need an older app to unlock it. It's a little more complicated than the new models but there's a reasonably good article here:

iPhoneFreakz _ All The Latest And Greatest iPhone News Upgrade or downgrade your bootloader with BootNeuter (http://iphonefreakz.com/2008/04/12/upgrade-or-downgrade-your-bootloader-with-bootneuter/)

leon
6th January 2010, 12:24 PM
Go here Dev-Team Blog (http://blog.iphone-dev.org/) and get the pwnage tool.