PDA

View Full Version : Cant make up my mind: 13 or 15" MBP?

lostiee
6th January 2010, 12:29 AM
I was sooo close to buying a MBP 15" this week, and then i had to carry around my friends 15" Toshiba today, and portability-wise, im having some doubts.

Im a student, so portability is Hugely important to me.
So i'd be inclined to go with the 13"

Sadly, im also a music fanatic, and the speakers of the 15" are better..
(even though, really i know that id be using headphone or plugging in speakers most of the time anyway)...(you should hear the arguments in my head)
Plus, everyone just seems to assume that 15" is better, no idea why..

Anyway, when it comes down to it, im too indecisive for my own good and im quite ready to flip a coin tbh :P
(Finance isnt an issue atm, ive saved up for quite a while :D)
So really, i guess what im asking is, is there a big difference in portability between the 13" and 15", is 500gm difference more than it sounds like? (Im a girl, kinda short, not exeptionally strong :[

tintinaujapon
6th January 2010, 12:55 AM
Do your eyes a favour, go the 15".

droodles
6th January 2010, 01:58 AM
the 15" is more of a desktop replacement. just my 2cents.

stab
6th January 2010, 08:26 AM
Depends on screen real-estate needs vs weight/dimensions/portability.

There is no doubt that the 13 is more portable. Will your study needs require the extra screen (ie audio, publishing, graphic design) or are you just typing essays?

Audio-wise - I'd be beaming audio via airtunes/airfoil to a decent amp and speakers with either of them when I'm home ;-)

They are both beautiful machines so you can't really go wrong either way...

midnight_e
6th January 2010, 08:41 AM
I'd say go 13in for portability, combine that with an external screen, keyboard and mouse at home.

A big screen is great, but carrying around a laptop all day isn't fun, and yes they get heavier as the day goes on.