PDA

View Full Version : A few easy questions...

hobotivo
18th December 2009, 06:28 AM
Hi folks
Please forgive the complete newbie nature of these questions, but I am a complete (mac) newbie looking to buy today! All questions refer to the entry level 21.5" iMac.

1) After initial set-up ie when in general day to day use, approximately how long to boot up to a usable state? (I find windows long boot times annoying.)

2) Can I have multiple accounts as in Windows, ie, my wife and myself have completely different and private sets of programs, files, email accounts etc?

3) I'm guessing it might be best to do the bootcamp thing following the intial bootup, before I start installing anything else. Would this be advisable or should I wait a while? Or doesn't matter?

Cheers

decryption
18th December 2009, 06:33 AM
1 - because its a new computer, it will be quick, but really, its' about the same as windows 7 these days. Don't expect instant boot up after a couple of months clogging it up with your junk.

2 - yes, you can set up user accounts

3 - if you plan to use boot camp, you can do it at any time. I would advise doing it when there's as little info on the HDD as possible, as when it re-partitions the drive to give you space for Windows, it can sometimes chuck a fit if there's not enough space or a weird file that won't budge

hobotivo
18th December 2009, 06:43 AM
Thanks for the quick answers. That's all I needed to know!
It's a Mac for me for Christmas. :)

I'm sure I'll be back qith more Q's as soon as I have it up and running.

Cheeers

Exocet
18th December 2009, 08:47 AM
As for boot-ups, if you're not overly concerned with power consumption you can just put the Mac to sleep. It will wake instantly.

hobotivo
18th December 2009, 09:07 AM
As for boot-ups, if you're not overly concerned with power consumption you can just put the Mac to sleep. It will wake instantly.