PDA

View Full Version : Value of more RAM?

MU51CL
14th December 2009, 09:15 PM
Hi folks - my first post here so be gentle :)

Just making the transition Back to Mac. There was a time I had no option with work requirements but to go PC. Now I don't and I'm moving back. My last Mac was an LC520....showing my age....

Anyhow, the primary use for iMac is as a music server with iTunes fed out of Firewire to an outboard DAC.
I also like to mess with my photos (10 megapixel SLR files, .jpg's) and I will be playing with photos while I listen to music.

I think that 8GB will be better for this. Yes/No?
I'm just an amateur photographer so no Photoshop, never got my head around that. Will start with Pixelator (ordered) and go Aperture if I feel the need.
I have the 21.5" with 4670 graphics.
Is it useful to add 2 more 2 GB RAM "chips" or will I be wasting time/money?

Thanks in advance.
I'm almost relieved to be back with Macs after years of PC conflicts.

MrJesseRoss
14th December 2009, 09:18 PM
More RAM is always a good idea. Especially if you're going to be dealing with images. Just go for it.

Currawong
14th December 2009, 10:45 PM
My suggestion is, get iStat Menus installed, which can show the memory usage in the menu bar, and watch to see if you're hitting the 4GB ceiling. If you can afford the extra memory though, go for it, as a few years down the track when it's not the most popular memory, it might cost more should you feel you want it.

dangelovich
15th December 2009, 06:35 AM
8gb seems a tad excessive. Don't get me wrong... the more the merrier.

I've got 6GB in my Mac Pro, and the only time it gets fully used is when I'm playing in Motion. Your DAC is most likely doing all the processing, so I doubt you'll see much benefit there, and 10mp photos are pretty tame, so again, little benefit.

You could easily get away with 4gb. Even 2gb, but that's pushing it a little.