PDA

View Full Version : MacBook buying advice - heat issue a problem with me :(

voirin
2nd December 2009, 03:43 AM
Hi, I'm very new to apple computer products. Actually the last time I owned an apple computer was the trusty Apple ][e !

I want to buy a notebook and have in the past been using windows on an IBM Thinkpad. But I am getting a little tired with the build quality of laptops on the market these days - especially the quality of the screen, noise levels, heat production etc. Only recently have I thought of getting a mac notebook. I have gone to JB HiFi and Myers and looked at the MacBook range there and have my eye on the MacBook Pro 15-inch: 2.8GHz for $2,999. The only thing that was stopping me from making my purchase yesterday was the noticeable heat coming from the notebook when resting my wrists on either side of the touch pad. I noticed there was minimal heat coming from the 13" macbook, more from the 15", and a lot more form the 17" (obviously correlated to CPU speed). Also, there seems to be more heat generated on the left hand side of the notebook compared to the right hand side. This can get uncomfortable when typing for extended periods of time. I guess you can place a cloth on the laptop to rest your wrists on so you don't feel the heat.

I really love the MacBook Pro. The screen is so bright and crisp and its just a beautiful piece of engineering - but the heat issue really really bugs me. Is this a problem for everyone? I don't know what to do at this stage. I heard that there is an issue with the placement of thermal paste during the construction phase causing the overheat... ? I am unresolved as to which way to go with my purchase.

Any help most appreciated.

Cheers,
V

midnight_e
2nd December 2009, 06:40 AM
If typing for long periods, use an external keyboard.
You could also get a stand to raise the screen to a more ergonometric height.

iguy83
2nd December 2009, 10:10 AM