View Full Version : memory for imac 233

9th July 2004, 09:40 AM
hello, this is my first post so forgive me if I don't use all of the fancy features that are avaliable.

I need to run redhat 9.0 on an old imac but it still only has all of the basics, 32mb, 4gb HDD and only a CD drive.

the question is what memory does it take because it is most likely a rev. 1 board.

p.s, if anyone knows what harddrive it takes, laptop or normal, thanks :P

9th July 2004, 09:53 AM
What speed is the iMac? Here is a link to a list of G3 macs, with the iMacs listed about half way down: http://everymac.com/systems/by_processor/powerpc750.html

They use the same 3.5" HD's as any other desktop, and they use PC100 SDRAM. :)

Also check out our articles pages for the_argon's guide to changing a HD in an imac.

9th July 2004, 09:56 AM
it's a 233 G3 if that is any different, I am not very good with the older imac's systems

with the pc100 mem, that means I can use pc-133 and it will just see it as pc-100?

9th July 2004, 10:35 AM
ack - well, that one uses 10 ns SO-DIMM - and i have no idea what type that is. If anyone else can help??

edit: here are the stats of your imac: http://everymac.com/systems/apple/imac/stats/imac_ab.html

9th July 2004, 10:39 AM
is it worth getting a newer one, I was looking to pick one up anyway if anyone has any ideas on where to get some cheap imacs in the melbourne metro area, or with cheap delivery, that would be great!

9th July 2004, 12:38 PM
I wouldn't stick a Hard Drive faster than 5400 RPM in it, faster Hard Drives tend to heat the system up faster and hold it at a higher heat!

10th July 2004, 02:00 PM
Originally posted by Disko@Jul 9 2004, 11:35 AM
ack - well, that one uses 10 ns SO-DIMM - and i have no idea what type that is. If anyone else can help??
Yes sir, that is 10ns PC100 SO-DIMMS, or commonly referred to as "laptop RAM".