PDA

View Full Version : Running The Gimp

tempestas
1st August 2005, 08:29 PM
I downloaded the GIMP 2.2.6 from SourceForge and it downloaded and when I launch, X11 launches then the GIMP dissapears from the dock and X11 remains running.

So yes I am a X11 newbie and I am probably missing something.

Any help appreciated.

Thanks in advance.

Currawong
1st August 2005, 08:33 PM
You can download something like Gimpshop or a similar version which automatically boots up X11 and runs in it. That's probably the easiest way to run it.

Are you using one of those versions?

The other way is to install Fink and then "fink install gimp". You'd then run it from a terminal inside of X11, ie: launching it from the command line.

dangelovich
1st August 2005, 08:50 PM
I use Gimp.app, which is basically an app that opens the Gimp in X11 with just a double click.

tempestas
1st August 2005, 09:21 PM
Dangelovich I think it is Gimp.app is what I downloaded - its got a fox icon. Followed the link from the Apple Tiger page.

Currawong, so I need fink to run the app and launch Gimp from the command line?

Showing my unix lack of knowledge, what is the lauch app command, or is it just a case of typing "gimp" like emacs or vi etc.

Thanks for the quick responses

.... Just found www.gimp.org/macintosh this should get me started.

Don't know how I missed this before.

hawker
2nd August 2005, 07:35 AM
Originally posted by tempestas@Aug 1 2005, 07:59 PM
I downloaded the GIMP 2.2.6 from SourceForge
Everytime I read this, I go straight back to Pulp Fiction and "Bring out the gimp..."

tempestas
2nd August 2005, 08:23 PM
Pulp Fiction references aside, when I launched in another login I got "caching fonts" then the Gimp icon dissapeared leaving X11 running.

I'm assuming I need to run some command to configure gimp to run. Looking on gimp.org has told me how to try compiling it from source code, which is something I'm not wanting to try just at the moment.