PDA

View Full Version : My dashboard is slow to update



Steeley
27th October 2009, 07:49 AM
When I load up my dashboard, I have to wait 5-10 seconds for the widgets to update (i.e. the ones with info from the web). I know that doesn't seem like much, but the idea of the dashboard is to quickly grab what you need so you don't have to navigate to a website to find little bits of info.

Is there a way to have it update in the background, say a full refresh every 2 minutes or so?

bennettnz
27th October 2009, 01:14 PM
mine takes just as long... depends on your internet connection I suppose - is this not normal?

Steeley
27th October 2009, 01:25 PM
I don't think it's my connection per se; I connect at 14500kpbs. The issue is that dashboard doesn't seem to bother updating its widgets until you click to enter the dashboard. If there was a setting that made it update behind the scenes every so often then it'd be better.

bennettnz
27th October 2009, 01:55 PM
yep I can see that would be a nice feature, an "instant on" or "push" style dashboard.

Byrd
27th October 2009, 08:40 PM
Try turning off as many unused widgets as you can - it might be loading them all up as opposed to accessing the net to update various things.

JB