PDA

View Full Version : Shall I Move To Tiger?

morgan
27th July 2005, 08:30 PM
I am currently running 10.3.9 on an iMac G5 and am wondering if anyone who has upgraded thinks it is worth updating to 10.4.2? I am a student who uses my mac for research, writing assignments, my iPod, Digital Still Camera, Digital Video. Any thoughts??

emacmark
27th July 2005, 08:51 PM
I am a home user on my emac 12-14 hrs a day.
If you use ISDN then 10.4.2 does not work.
Dashboard is addictive and great, otherwise, I dont notice much difference to 10.3.9.
10.4.2 may do more, but I don't notice it.

Mark

Mohawk
27th July 2005, 09:54 PM
Let me just start by saying that I dont currently use 10.4, and origionally planned on updating to it from 10.3.9 once 10.4.2 was released. I'm also in the exact position your in.

The answer is basically, no.

Just like me, your probably attracted to get the latest and greatest, and after using spotlight at an apple store I can say that it would revolutionise the way you use your mac, but I would hardly call it a necessity.
The way I see it, if you have $180 and absolutely nothing better to spend it on (which as your a student I doubt) then I dont see any reason not to go for it (unless someone else can come up with a reason not to) but dont put yourself out of pocket for something you dont need.

I highly doubt I'll be getting it anytime soon, because I have other things like printers and drawing tablets I have to buy first.

Anyway, I hope your happy with whatever choice you make :)

Edge
28th July 2005, 03:18 AM
For me, the answer is emphatically yes.

The reason is Spotlight. It's turned years of careful file management into nothing. At first I thought it was a gimmick, like the Dashboard. But I was wrong.