PDA

View Full Version : System 6.08 users!



Byrd
6th July 2004, 09:19 AM
Last night I came across my old IIsi, given to me by a friend a while back. Thought I had chucked it, but fired it up to see what was on there. Yeah System 6.08! It's super fast on the IIsi (specs: 17MB/160MB HD, although only 8MB of RAM is recognised) - boots under 15 seconds, folder opening as fast as my P3 does with WinXP. It does take a longer time to quit programs whem compared to System 7.x, however.

Was surprised at how many similarities System 6 shares with OS X - all-in-one control panel, and just the general simplicity and elegance the system has over when System 7 and 8 became increasingly more and more complex (and crash prone :P).

One thing 6.08 can't do is run Pirates! - my most favourite game of all time (even have the original game with the cloth pirate map!) - you need System 5 for that one!

Anyone else been running/using retro OSes?

JB

LCGuy
7th July 2004, 03:51 PM
I run System 6.08 on my LCII. Its faster than my 2 Ghz Dell running Windows XP. :)

Byrd
7th July 2004, 10:24 PM
Originally posted by LCGuy@Jul 7 2004, 03:51 PM
I run System 6.08 on my LCII. Its faster than my 2 Ghz Dell running Windows XP. :)
Wot you've got Far Cry running on your LCII? :D

lunchbill
8th July 2004, 04:34 PM
I've got an LCII boxed up in the closet. I'm not sure why I've never chucked it out. Who knows what system is on it; it's been so many years.

That pizza box was sooooo sexy when it first came out!

josh64
29th August 2004, 05:41 PM
System 6 on a Macintosh Classic here!
Mmmmm monochrome goodness.

Byrd
29th August 2004, 09:48 PM
Nice. And, holding down command-option-X-O at startup on your Classic gives you System 6 stored on ROM goodness!

JB

p996911turbo
29th August 2004, 10:15 PM
I feel like bumping my performa 580CD down to 6.08. Can 6.08 run in it and where do I find an installer?

Byrd
31st August 2004, 12:45 PM
The minimum system a Performa 580 can run is 7.1, owing to it requiring a system enabler that starts from this software release onwards.

System 6.08 --> 7.5.5 can be downloaded from Apple's site for free.

JB

p996911turbo
31st August 2004, 03:39 PM
Originally posted by bYrd@Aug 31 2004, 12:45 PM
The minimum system a Performa 580 can run is 7.1, owing to it requiring a system enabler that starts from this software release onwards.
Thanks!

Byrd
31st August 2004, 06:00 PM
No worries, although if you have a decent amount of RAM (24MB+, 32MB preferable) on your LC580, I'd go for System 8.1 - the UI is a little more slow than System 7.x, but it's much less crash-prone and works better when networked with an OS X Mac.

Apple doesn't offer it as a free download of course, but look around .. ;)

JB

Gothikon
31st August 2004, 07:04 PM
Originally posted by bYrd@Jul 6 2004, 09:19 AM
Was surprised at how many similarities System 6 shares with OS X - all-in-one control panel,
One of my favourite things about OS 6, so glad they brought it back.

LCGuy
5th September 2004, 10:58 AM
Originally posted by bYrd+Jul 7 2004, 10:24 PM--></div><table border='0' align='center' width='95%' cellpadding='3' cellspacing='1'><tr><td>QUOTE (bYrd @ Jul 7 2004, 10:24 PM)</td></tr><tr><td id='QUOTE'> <!--QuoteBegin-LCGuy@Jul 7 2004, 03:51 PM
I run System 6.08 on my LCII. Its faster than my 2 Ghz Dell running Windows XP. :)
Wot you&#39;ve got Far Cry running on your LCII? :D [/b][/quote]
I don&#39;t get it.....

Anyhoo, i can&#39;t really say that anymore, i gave in and upped it to 7.1. :(

cmetom
5th September 2004, 12:22 PM
Originally posted by josh64@Aug 29 2004, 06:41 PM
System 6 on a Macintosh Classic here&#33;
Mmmmm monochrome goodness.
mm same.. tho my classic is in a state of disarray right now.

cmetom
5th September 2004, 12:25 PM
Originally posted by Gothikon+Aug 31 2004, 08:04 PM--></div><table border='0' align='center' width='95%' cellpadding='3' cellspacing='1'><tr><td>QUOTE (Gothikon @ Aug 31 2004, 08:04 PM)</td></tr><tr><td id='QUOTE'> <!--QuoteBegin-bYrd@Jul 6 2004, 09:19 AM
Was surprised at how many similarities System 6 shares with OS X - all-in-one control panel,
One of my favourite things about OS 6, so glad they brought it back. [/b][/quote]
oh yeah&#33;&#33;

i just realised that System 7, 8 and 9 have that list of control panels instead of the one window thingy... heh i never use them much. i basically went from 6.08 to 10.2&#33;&#33;&#33;&#33;