PDA

View Full Version : MobileMe photos - posting on forums



Tassiecelt
14th October 2009, 12:12 AM
Still confused about this, I really want to link photos in my mobileme album on forums, but cannot find a simple way of doing this.
Can it be done?

Apoptosis
14th October 2009, 12:18 AM
You have to go into the gallery page (not the mobileme interface one) and open the photo from there. Then right click on the image, copy image location or the similar command depending on your browser. Link that and all is well.

Lutze
14th October 2009, 12:33 AM
I think I get you....

go to me.com > click sunflower (once you've signed in) > select the photograph you want > look down at bottom right and click the Actual Size box > right click on image and copy address...

http://www.me.com/ro/neil.r.bishop/Galleries/100008/P5240997/web.jpg?ver=12484059620004

dotnet
14th October 2009, 12:54 AM
MobileMe gallery seems broken at the moment. I can't see my stuff. Did Apple outsource this to Microsoft/Danger?

Cheers
Steffen.

Lutze
14th October 2009, 01:20 AM
MobileMe gallery seems broken at the moment. I can't see my stuff. Did Apple outsource this to Microsoft/Danger?

Cheers
Steffen.

Mine is working fine - as you can see from the picture that I've linked.


*edit* mine seems to now be stuffed.

ipwn
14th October 2009, 01:33 AM
lol MobileMe FAIL

Apoptosis
14th October 2009, 01:34 AM
I think I get you....

go to me.com > click sunflower (once you've signed in) > select the photograph you want > look down at bottom right and click the Actual Size box > right click on image and copy address...

http://www.me.com/ro/neil.r.bishop/Galleries/100008/P5240997/web.jpg?ver=12484059620004

Nope - you have to select to view it in the gallery view. The public link in the top right of the screen IIRC.

Lutze
14th October 2009, 01:39 AM
lol MobileMe FAIL


Nope - you have to select to view it in the gallery view. The public link in the top right of the screen IIRC.

and... it's back. Or at least it is for me.

Sebastianmonty
14th October 2009, 06:42 AM
It says Unauthorized when I click the link. Anyway the way I always did it is:
First I upload it with anyone to see from iPhoto.
Second I go to the gallery and click on the photo. Then right click and click on "Open in new tab"
Third I copy the full address in the url box and post it in the picture link(The yellow button with mountains on it where you write a post.

Steeley
14th October 2009, 08:46 AM
I made a post in a thread at http://forums.mactalk.com.au/56/74949-mobileme-tweak.html#post883033 on this.

Looks like they've changed it now so that you have to login to the web interface and first share the file, then get the link. Talk about making it difficult.

Edit: Testing if I've worked out how to do it in the new system before writing a tutorial.

http://me.com/ix/gsteele/Public/modem.jpg?disposition=download

Steeley
14th October 2009, 09:04 AM
Ok, guys, I've worked out how you can link to the public folder with the latest mobileme update, so that you can post images directly on forums.

How I worked this out was I downloaded Charles Web Debugging Proxy. It records what happens when you click links and other stuff while you're browsing the net. I opened Charles then navigated to the iDisk web interface and the public folder. I then clicked on an image and on the right hand side in iDisk it came up with 'Share File' and 'Download'.

I clicked 'Download'. On doing this I noticed Charles recorded a string like:-

hxxx://me.com/ix/gsteele/Public/modem.jpg?disposition=download+54668465456

The three xxx's are ttp of course, but if I used ttp then this forum has a habit of making a shortcut name.

To test the string I came into Mactalk (my above post) and put in:-

hxxx://me.com/ix/gsteele/Public/modem.jpg?disposition=download

So I left out the +123456789 on the end. It worked!

So, if you want to post from MobileMe's iDisk public folder straight to a forum use the following address:-

hxxx://me.com/ix/username/Public/file.name?disposition=download

Edit: also works with hxxx://public.me.com/ix/username/file.name?disposition=download

Tassiecelt
14th October 2009, 12:17 PM
http://gallery.me.com/tassiecelt/100154/DSC_0191/web.jpg?ver=12106007360001

Thanks for the advice - just testing....

No, got something wrong..

Steeley
14th October 2009, 01:04 PM
Must be working for you now. I see a picture of the sea.

kenexx
14th October 2009, 03:52 PM
Nup - not working for me :sad:

Steeley
14th October 2009, 04:15 PM
Nup - not working for me :sad:

Please note that if you've saved the file as Filename.JPG then you have to use a capital F, and uppercase JPG or it won't work. It has to be that precise.

Exocet
14th October 2009, 07:06 PM
This all seems rather complicated. What's so difficult about using ImageShack® - Image Hosting (http://www.imageshack.us) and copying the Forum Code they provide? You don't even have to think.

Tassiecelt
14th October 2009, 08:46 PM
Must be working for you now. I see a picture of the sea.

You can see the sea? I can't see the sea! My hope was to include the actual image in the post rather than a link.
It used to be easy with Phanfare, might have to go back to it.

Tassiecelt
14th October 2009, 08:54 PM
This all seems rather complicated. What's so difficult about using ImageShack® - Image Hosting (http://www.imageshack.us) and copying the Forum Code they provide? You don't even have to think.

$8 per month? not worth that for me.

Exocet
14th October 2009, 08:57 PM
Its free.

Apoptosis
14th October 2009, 09:39 PM
Yeah, but we gotta make use of this mobileme crap somehow :P

That said - I'll always use imageshack if I dont have time to mess around.

Tassiecelt
15th October 2009, 08:35 AM
http://cdn-3-service.phanfare.com/images/external/4148045_4387244_83525265_Web_2/0_0_23cefe804f32d473e653b2696a6aae51_1

Testing testing 1-2-3
I went back to Phanfare, and yes it does cost, but they have a nice linking feature for images.

edit: still doesn't insert the image into the post though ????

bennyling
15th October 2009, 08:37 AM
I went back to Phanfare, and yes it does cost, but they have a nice linking feature for images.

Imageshack, as mentioned by Exocet above, is free.

They also have "a nice linking feature for images".

Tassiecelt
15th October 2009, 08:41 AM
Yes I did notice that, I just saw "subscribe $8 a month" at the bottom of the page, must have been for something else.

Phanfare cost me $29 for the year but no advertising and lots of features. I still wish dotmac was easier - after all, we are paying for it.
I don't like too many apps doing the same thing.

Tassiecelt
15th October 2009, 08:58 AM
OK I tried Imageshack, you are right, some nice forum features there

http://img260.imageshack.us/img260/8691/img0451f.th.jpg (http://img260.imageshack.us/i/img0451f.jpg/)

grfxninja
15th October 2009, 09:17 AM
You're making it too hard!
Said it before, i'll say it again… Skitch.com + Skitch = fast and fun screen capture and image sharing. (http://www.skitch.com/) FTW!
I have changed my keyboard shortcuts for the OS screenshots to be used by Skitch.
It also allows you to open your own images and upload to the skitch server.
Couldn't be simpler IMHO.

http://img.skitch.com/20091014-tf4fykm131nmt7uqes7du3d11u.jpg

Above image is obviously from the video demo below.
A-ozTtjTs4k

Skitch also lets you add captions or arrows etc to your images if you want to highlight - something like this:
http://img.skitch.com/20091014-85kwnac1r4wbqtc7hbw5paiaip.jpg

*Geez I love this quicktime screen recording thing. I know there are other apps that do it (and probably better too) but for the amount of times I have needed it, it wasn't worth paying for…

Tassiecelt
15th October 2009, 10:20 AM
I did see your post, downloaded the app and took it no further, just watched the 3min video, yes I'm impressed, I will try it, thanks for the reminder.

Here is my first attempt

http://img.skitch.com/20091015-87myab6xikf95c393nprqr341k.preview.jpg (http://skitch.com/grahamhodge/ndg1d/dsc-0104)
Click for full size (http://skitch.com/grahamhodge/ndg1d/dsc-0104) - Uploaded with plasq (http://plasq.com)'s Skitch (http://skitch.com)

no...still doing something wrong

Exocet
15th October 2009, 10:21 AM
Yep, you don't have to put the [img] tags in, the forum-code provided by skitch takes care of that for you.

Tassiecelt
15th October 2009, 11:18 AM
I just copied and pasted the forum option for the image, I thought my post above did have "IMG" in it....sorry to be a bit stupid on this

Exocet
15th October 2009, 11:32 AM
Just copy-and paste directly from the "forum" box in skitch and you get this:
http://img.skitch.com/20091015-x56apxi729c98h5wmu2tbwkr19.preview.jpg (http://skitch.com/exocet/ndgap/mobileme-photos-posting-on-forums-page-2-mactalk-forums)Click for full size (http://skitch.com/exocet/ndgap/mobileme-photos-posting-on-forums-page-2-mactalk-forums) - Uploaded with plasq (http://plasq.com)'s Skitch (http://skitch.com)

What you did was to write , then paste, then write . Don't do that. Don't use the "insert image button" either.

Just copy-paste.

grfxninja
15th October 2009, 03:08 PM
hat you did was to write , then paste, then write . Don't do that. Don't use the "insert image button" either.

Just copy-paste.

Actually, that's my fault. I use the "image only" link on skitch so it doesn't have all the bullshit (uploaded with plasq's skitch blah blah blah) after the image, in which case I have to click the "image" button on the forum to insert an image.

If you just copy the "forum" link on the skitch site, then you don't need to use the "insert image" button, as Exocet says, just hit cmd+v (paste) where you want your image in your post.

Either way works just fine

Tassiecelt
16th October 2009, 09:58 PM
http://img.skitch.com/20091016-mujydedgm6fdxjahhw5m1jmn3j.jpg

Trying the "image only" share option

Bum! image STILL not in post

Below copy and paste as suggested

http://img.skitch.com/20091016-mujydedgm6fdxjahhw5m1jmn3j.jpg

decryption
16th October 2009, 10:09 PM
No, the image is in the post. It works fine, hah

Tassiecelt
16th October 2009, 10:16 PM
that was quick, mmm how come I can't see it? Do like Skitch though

decryption
16th October 2009, 10:20 PM
Work fine - I can see it.

http://grab.by/9Yb

You're having such a difficult time with just posting an image! It's so easy!

Tassiecelt
16th October 2009, 10:44 PM
Thanks, OK I believe you, you can see it, but I don't understand why I cannot. Is there some setting in the forum I've missed?

kenexx
17th October 2009, 11:14 AM
http://img.skitch.com/20091017-mn3kaaxt95cwimjb2831jchg5w.preview.jpg (http://skitch.com/mauricekennedy/ndtrt/img-0770)
Click for full size (http://skitch.com/mauricekennedy/ndtrt/img-0770) - Uploaded with plasq (http://plasq.com)'s Skitch (http://skitch.com)

kenexx
17th October 2009, 11:16 AM
http://img.skitch.com/20091017-mn3kaaxt95cwimjb2831jchg5w.jpg

Sorry for all the pics guys. Please indulge me!!!

Tassiecelt
19th October 2009, 07:46 AM
Looks like you have the same issue as me, I can click on your link and see the image but it's not included in the post as an image.

MrJesseRoss
19th October 2009, 08:01 AM
I think that's a problem on your end Tassiecelt, I can see the images fine.

tcn33
19th October 2009, 08:01 AM
Might be a browser issue as I can see both just fine without having to click a link.

Tassiecelt
19th October 2009, 08:05 PM
So it seems hmhg, re browser issue, yes maybe - I only use Safari but I'll check settings.

Tassiecelt
19th October 2009, 08:20 PM
Yes it was the browser, I installed Firefox and I can see the images just fine.
Bit of a shame about Safari.


Update: then after installing Firefox I imported bookmarks....and settings! Now Firefox no longer show the images we've been tasking about, so the problem must be in the Safari settings - now in Firefox too :(