PDA

View Full Version : Apple x serve - no idea?

S0phieS0ph
12th October 2009, 08:54 PM
Hi,

I am totally new to macs and need some help. My dad passed away this year and I have been given his ex-architectual company apple xserve to try and sell. I believe I have a Apple XServe Model number A1068. Is this worth selling second hand? I have 4 drives that appear to be just the trays (Hard drives kept for archive information), but 3 slots these can go into. The whole server is very heavy.

I have NO idea what it is, what it has on it etc. Can I sell this myself, or should I take this to a techy who can tell me what it is worth/what is the specs? Can't really sell anything if I have no idea what it is/on it etc.

Not sure if I should try to sell it or if its for the bin - totally clueless here and none on ebay/gumtree I can see. I have been given a loose valuation of $3,500 but I believe this is way off since the drives have been emptied and I have no install Cd's or anything.

Apologies if this is not the right area for this question.

decryption
12th October 2009, 08:56 PM
No way is it for the bin. That $3,500 guess is pretty high, but slap it up on eBay and you'll get at least $1,000 for it.

ZacDavies
12th October 2009, 09:47 PM
Yep, it's an expensive piece of tech! Don't discard!

leon
13th October 2009, 07:24 AM
Is there a label on it somewhere that indicates CPU speed/RAM configuration?

Sounds like your model could be a single or dual 2.0GHz G5.

At a minimum you would be looking at $800 with no drives and single G5. If it were a dual 2.0GHz with a lot of RAM, then $1000+ is achievable on eBay.

Jaste
13th October 2009, 07:36 AM
Where abouts is the server located? If it is close by to someone here on the forums they may be able to come and check it out for you to tell you exactly what you have.

mac_man_luke
13th October 2009, 08:11 AM
I wouldnt think it would be worth $1000 just because its PPC which limits which OS can run on it and would not be that fast