PDA

View Full Version : No Modem Sound When Dialing Since Tiger Update



luke_in_tas
24th July 2005, 08:30 AM
Since the upgrade to Tiger I have had no modem sound when making dial-up connections. Although I have an ADSL connection at home I use my modem a lot when travelling. Having no sound makes it really hard to troubleshoot connection problems, which happen often when trying to dial out from hotel rooms using a calling card.

Has anyone else had any luck with solving this problem?

I notice that there are at least two seperate threads on Apple's dicussion formus relating to this issues (here (http://discussions.info.apple.com/webx?128@259.u1YZaqdwVmU.284723@.68af6cee) and here (http://discussions.info.apple.com/webx?128@259.u1YZaqdwVmU.284723@.68ae6aaa)), but no solution as yet.

This is definitely seems to be a bug in Tiger. I have tried booting my machine with Panther, and when I do the modem sounds return.

Alternatively, if you don't know of a solution, but are experiencing the same problem, send feedback to Apple at: http://www.apple.com/macosx/feedback/. Hopefully the more feedback they get the sooner the problem will be fixed.

DJY
24th July 2005, 09:20 AM
When travelling recently I also noticed the lack of sound / dial tone / handshake.

The only way I could trouble shoot / or be aware of what was happening, was to open the Internet Connect dialog box and watch what was happening.

applecollector
24th July 2005, 10:05 AM
Hello,

I have the same problem on my iBook Running OS X 10.3.9 and my eMac!
Suddenly one day they disappeared!
Werid!

thebag
25th July 2005, 09:13 AM
Have a look at

xlr8yourmac (http://www.xlr8yourmac.com)

there have been several issues with modem errors etc. when upgrading to tiger.

Don't know if this will help

Mark

luke_in_tas
25th July 2005, 05:40 PM
I found some problems regarding modems under Tiger listed here: http://www.xlr8yourmac.com/OSX/tiger_modem_reports.html.

Unfortunately, although they also listed the "no sound" problem, there were no solutions available. However it does seem that this is not an issue affecting everyone. I've also noticed in the Apple discussions that this problem may only be affecting people who upgraded or who used the Migration Assistant. The problem may be resolved by doing a clean install of the OS, but I don't want to have to go to this extreme to fix one annoying problem.

luke_in_tas
13th November 2005, 12:42 PM
The cause of this problem is the DivX extention to Quicktime, which is incompatible with Tiger and Quictime 7. If you remove DivX 5.component from the /Library/Quicktime folder it will correct the problem (I found this informaton here (http://macosx.com/content/faq.php/q12536/Internal-Modem-Sound-Problem.html)).

According to the DivX site (http://www.divx.com/divx/mac/): "DivX 5 does not support Mac OS X 10.4 or QuickTime 7. We are working with Apple to resolve several compatibility issues".

If you do a Google search on "DivX 5.component" you will also see that this extention causes a lot of other problems in Tiger as well.