PDA

View Full Version : iMacs with Blu-ray?

macrob69
25th September 2009, 09:39 AM
Did a quick search for this and couldn't find it - apologies if a repost

Report: Apple ready to release new iMacs with Blu-ray | Apple - CNET News (http://news.cnet.com/8301-13579_3-10361120-37.html)

Brains
25th September 2009, 10:18 AM
Chances of that actually happening: nil. Apple are still holding out against the MPAA over the whole DRM thing.

Ecto1
25th September 2009, 11:20 AM
Why? What can blu-ray do that DVD can't?

NORMANDY
25th September 2009, 11:24 AM
as a Video producer I can officially say " YAWN"!!

BLU RAY is a dead on arrival format, it offers nothing that DVD and downloads don't already for video material. The licensing fees for Blu ray are still way to high, AND REPLICATION costs are off the planet, I Havant had one Client ask for any deliverable in Blu Ray format. Its just one big Sony stuff up, that I wont enter into.

The future is downloads just like music has moved away from little discs, so is it with video.

dotnet
25th September 2009, 11:45 AM
as a Video producer I can officially say " YAWN"!!

I'm so glad that many producers of movies I enjoy watching disagree with you.

Newsflash: Not *everybody* is watching movies on their iPod screens...

Cheers
Steffen.

NORMANDY
25th September 2009, 12:11 PM
I am glad those MULTI million dollar studios can afford it. The independent producer can not afford the massive amounts that Sony want for their crap.

in any case most people can not even tell the difference between blu ray and dvd, its all so ho hum, and no ones going to upgrade their huge libraries of DVD for BLU Ray when Blu Ray from DVD offers so very little.