PDA

View Full Version : Next Byte ad in Macworld Aus

yinyang
1st July 2004, 04:30 PM
just having a look at this month's macworld and noticed the nextbyte ad on page 3, and looking at the bit for Office 2004 (which seems to be all over the magazine...!) and noticed that the price for Office Student is 299, but then states 3 licenses (good) and that 'NO ID Required' ???

anyone know exactly what that means - can i just rock up to nextbyte, tell them i'm a student and save myself $400 on office? wonder what the upgrade price would be then...?

that would be nice :)

OziMac
1st July 2004, 04:44 PM
No ID is required because the terms of the software licence are different - not sure exactly, but I'm fairly sure that one of the licence conditions are that you are studying, teaching or working at an academic institution. The obligation is not on the retailer to check ID when selling it to you, but rather on you not to use it unless you satisfy those criteria. So you can buy it, but legally unless you are at a university it's similar to using pirated software since they have not permitted you to use the software.

So there you go - if you're not a student, you can go ahead and buy it and save yourself $400, but if you use it, then it's on your head. :o

Febs
1st July 2004, 06:00 PM
Originally posted by OziMac@Jul 1 2004, 04:44 PM
No ID is required because the terms of the software licence are different - not sure exactly, but I'm fairly sure that one of the licence conditions are that you are studying, teaching or working at an academic institution. The obligation is not on the retailer to check ID when selling it to you, but rather on you not to use it unless you satisfy those criteria. So you can buy it, but legally unless you are at a university it's similar to using pirated software since they have not permitted you to use the software.