PDA

View Full Version : How to backup ...

Deathgod
25th August 2009, 07:51 PM
*newbie alert

Just grabbed a My Studio 1TB as a backup drive ...
anyways .. i am confused as to the best way to backup on my iMac ..

My iMac is only 3 months old, but i was thinking of backing up b4 i install the new Snow Leopard

After installing Snow Leopard will I have to re-install the iLife progs ?

or can i back them up, along with my music, movies etc and reinstall them from the new My Studio drive after I have installed Snow Leopard ?

or is it OK to just install the new Snow Leopard over the top .....

as I said .. Im a Mac newbie ....

leon
25th August 2009, 08:24 PM
Set up the WD as a Time Machine drive.
This will back up your entire iMac (Apps, pics, docs, movies, etc).

You have 2 options when SL arrives.
1) Perform an upgrade which will turn Leopard into Snow Leopard and leave all your files and applications alone.

2) Perform a clean install, which will wipe your drive and you will have to reinstall all your apps and documents. You can use migration assistant to copy your apps, documents, pictures etc from Time Machine onto your new machine.

* If you go the clean install route, make sure your backup works before erasing your primary drive. I tend to make 2 copies of my data before wiping my primary drive. I also confirm that my files actually work on my backup drives.

Deathgod
26th August 2009, 11:15 AM
is a clean install the best way to go ?
my Mac is pretty clean, i dont have much on it apart from the iLife suite, which is all up to date...

OK i just used WD Backup, the software that came with the drive
I figure that i dont need to backup as frequent as TimeMachine..

anyone have any experience/thoughts on WD Anywhere Backup ?

hmmm
i notice the Drive seems to be backing up stuff 'all the time'

can i set it up so it only backs up when i ask it too ?

or do i need to just eject it, and fire it up when i need it
thanks in advance guys

avolve