PDA

View Full Version : Work Laptop (I want to stick with my mbp but work want to give me a dell laptop!!!)

janastas
19th August 2009, 09:24 PM
OK, here is my situation:

I've been a Macbook pro user for the last three years now, it's my primary work machine even though work by default supplies me with a desktop (I asked the IT guys to take the desktop away as it was gathering a lot of dust...)

The laptop is a personal laptop just in case you where wondering.

I'm the only Mac user in the office but I'm managing to get all my work done without having a Windows desktop.

Some of the apps I use are:

Things, VNC server and viewer, MS Office suite for mac, path finder, windows remote desktop for mac, timeous, textwrangler, vmware, versions, etc...

Let's just say using a mac for what I do is an absolutely seamless experience, I breeze through my work at a great pace and the boss can see that. (I'm a business analyst by trade so all these tools are always opened on my screen and always in use during the day)

Anyway, the boss has said I can get a laptop supplied by work, the only condition is that has to be a Dell, they won't supply me with a Mac.

I was tempted by the offer but after now thinking about it, I really don't want to let go of my mac.

The only issue here is that when it's time to upgrade my mac, I have to pay for it (I can salary sacrifice it if I want)

I suppose the questions I have for you guys and gals out there is:

- Has anyway made the switch from mac to windows and regretted it?
- Is there any way that I might be able to persuade my company into funding the mac or at least part of it?
- Should I just stay stuff it and fork out the cash and stay in mac land next time I upgrade?

Anyones opinion would be a big help to me.

Thanks.

Shaun R
19th August 2009, 09:45 PM
Fork out the cash and stick with the Mac.