PDA

View Full Version : Windows on Fusion - Cheapest & Best Way?

opilot87
6th August 2009, 02:54 PM
Quick intro, have been an avid apple fan for sometime, but just purchased my first mac (13" macbook pro) a few days ago. Loving it although its taking some time to transfer all my things from my windows laptop and get used to the whole os x thing as I have never used it before.

I am about to purchase Fusion so I can run windows on the odd occasion for a few programs I need, and to keep my worries about not knowing or being able to do what I want on OS X at bay.

I had a look at the Austin Computers website, they have XP home for $125, and Vista Premium with Windows 7 upgrade voucher for $169. For a start ddo these prices sound about as cheap as you can find them?

At the moment from what I know you can basically get the Windows 7 trial now for free (where can you find this BTW) which will work until sometime next year (when exactly?). My main question is, if I purchase Vista with the free upgrade, can I just install Windows 7 now, and when the trial is about to run out, can you just enter the Vista serial number or windows 7 upgrade voucher number to enable it to continue working?

Otherwise will I be able to just purchase Windows 7 (how much will it be?) when it is realised, and use that serial number to convert my trial version into a full version without re-installing etc?

Some guidance here would be much appreciated.

Cheers,
Ollie

Mac Ram
6th August 2009, 03:18 PM
Why can't you use the version of XP that came with your windows laptop?

If for some reason you can't, depending on how critical those windows tasks are - I would just put windows 7 on there and worry about the upgrade to fully paid version next year (July I think).

Also before purchasing Fusion, look at VirtualBox (it's free) or just use bootcamp (again free).

Jolyon
6th August 2009, 03:45 PM
Why can't you use the version of XP that came with your windows laptop?