PDA

View Full Version : Should I Buy?

Bolt
6th July 2005, 05:15 AM
In February, I am flying out to Brisbane to begin my Postgraduate studies at Griffith. I was planning on buying a PowerBook before I left. I am going to bringing my Dual 2GHz PowerMac G5, but the fact is that as a postgraduate student I am going to be writing a lot, and want something portable where I can just go and write someplace.

However, now I really do not know if I want to buy the PowerBook. Why should I buy it when just a few months down the road I can get the new PowerBook with the intel chip? However, I am then looking at spending my first year in Grad school without a notebook.

Any thoughts?

sdien
6th July 2005, 08:08 AM
being a postgrad student myself,
i would say, just buy the 12" pbook. it's portable, and it's cheaper in the states anyway.

if you worry about screen size, you can always buy an extra monitor to connect to the pbook.

you'll be doing a lot of writting in the first year anyway, proposal, correction, more correction.. depending on your luck, somtimes this will take forever (personal experience, especially when you have a very responsive-unresponsive supervisor)

all the money you spent on the pbook should pay for itself by the time you finish..

i myself don't own any portables for the first two years of my study because theres too many scary stories of my fellow grad students who had their portables stolen (mac or pc) along with their work... but again, that's what backup is for.

another option is you can check with your department/school whether they can buy you any portables of your choice. there are several policy depending on university and department that ive known of, so this might work you.

the bad thing is, most of the time, you have to return the portable/ pbook back to the univ after you finish your study.

good luck
B)

fompsweeva
6th July 2005, 08:08 AM