PDA

View Full Version : New Setup Assistamt



Atomic
25th June 2004, 01:37 PM
For those who receive "Apple eNews" newsletter (which I think is all of us :)) you may have seen the new setup assistant (http://www.apple.com/macosx/upgrade/upgradetonewmac.html) in OSX. So far it has only been seen in the new rev.2 2004 G5's because they contain the latest incarnation of OSX. My G4 that has 10.3.4 updated via Software Update shows as build 7H63, the new rev.2 G5's show the installed version of 10.3.4 as 7L32.

I can only assume this new setup assistant will be included in future updates or perhaps only available on OEM versions of OSX in other words, it will only be available on all new machines from June 2004 onwards.

I didn't actually complete a transfer but took a few screenshots of what you see when booting for the first time.

http://members.optusnet.com.au/~paulie1974/G5ATM.jpg

http://members.optusnet.com.au/~paulie1974/Setup1.jpg

http://members.optusnet.com.au/~paulie1974/Setup2.jpg

Asher Tuzza
25th June 2004, 02:33 PM
nice - very nice
can i suggest that when taking screenshots - rather then using apple shift 4 and draging the area you want - try apple-shift-4 then apple-space then click the window you wanna photograph - its much nicer imho

Atomic
25th June 2004, 02:44 PM
Asher, thats the way these screenshots were taken?!

Lasha
25th June 2004, 03:05 PM
Umm...what's the process of taking those nice screenshots? Can't understand it...

Anyway, this new feature is cool. Can it be accessed any time?

rice mac
25th June 2004, 04:38 PM
Umm...what's the process of taking those nice screenshots?
http://docs.info.apple.com/article.html?artnum=107071
http://docs.info.apple.com/article.html?artnum=61544

I love this feature and use it often.
On my Powerbook use Snapz Pro X, it offers even more screen capture options. Excellent app, it might have been included in the software that was bundled with your Mac. Check the software restore CD/DVD that came with your machine.
http://www.ambrosiasw.com/utilities/snapzprox/

Lasha
25th June 2004, 04:41 PM
Thanks for the info! :)

Phillip
25th June 2004, 11:13 PM
nice... i think tiger will have this built in...

Atomic
27th June 2004, 03:58 AM
In addition to the setup assistant, I also found this new Displays option that is non existant in 10.3.4 7H63. Obviously this would only show up for Apple external LCD displays that have both the power and displays preferences buttons on the front panel

http://members.optusnet.com.au/~paulie1974/displays.jpg