PDA

View Full Version : How Can I Connect Up To Brodband At A Friends Hous



applecollector
26th June 2005, 02:37 PM
How can i set up broadband on an ibook via ethernet.
I'm going to a friends house where their is broadband and i would like 2 connect on to his modem since there are 2 Ethernet sockets!
I'm leaving in an Hour so i need to know fast!
Thanks Bye!

MacNut
26th June 2005, 02:53 PM
If it is a cable connection (eg Optus) you just hook up and you will be connected to browse. You will not be able to get email unless your ISP has webmail in which case you just log in there. Hope that helps :D

I have just been told the same applies if it is a wi-fi connection but not having done that I can't verify

applecollector
26th June 2005, 03:00 PM
ok very cool i believe he has optus!
and i have 2 connect via cross over cable right?

Currawong
26th June 2005, 03:17 PM
Regular cable if it's to the router/modem.

applecollector
26th June 2005, 05:11 PM
Well i'm at his houser now and i tried to connect it but it dodn't work.
Fiddled around with the settings but still didn't work.
i used a cross over cable and the other sort of cable.
So what should i don't to connect to the net i really badly need it!
i'm still going 2 be here for the next 2 hours.
Thanks Bye

Jimbo
26th June 2005, 05:30 PM
try setting up your pppoe connection... ie go into thing settings and connect via pppope, you'll need his/her username and passwd. but yeah