PDA

View Full Version : Ibook Performance Enhancers

ETHERSPIN
23rd June 2005, 10:38 PM
Hi guys,ive tried onyx but couldnt really set any options to better performance than thedefault ibook settings , are there any utils to speed up performance of these by turning some settings down, e.g. turning some transparency off or some other effects??

James
24th June 2005, 08:51 AM
If it's a G3 there's iCook which boosts CPU by10%:

http://www.swieskowski.net/icook/

Works well!

ETHERSPIN
24th June 2005, 12:52 PM
its a g4 , has just the built in 256mb at the mo for ram, whats the main bottleneck for the OS performance, would that be the fact that its a 1.2ghz(or 1.3 i cant remember!!) g4 processor or that theres only 256mb of ram... or option c , is it the 32mb video card ??

zillatron
24th June 2005, 01:09 PM
I'm no expert - but 512mb or RAM will help.
The more the better, if you can afford it.

I have a 1.2ghz 12", 512mb and 10.4- it runs safari, mail ,ical full time in 2 logged in profiles over 4 desktops in each (desktop manager is so cool...) seems fine and 'fast' to me!

is it the 32mb video card
That will start to be a problem if you run the screen spanning hack, then try and expose` half a dozen windows on 2 screens.

:thumbup:
Z

Phillip
24th June 2005, 02:42 PM
Originally posted by ETHERSPIN@Jun 24 2005, 12:52 PM
its a g4 , has just the built in 256mb at the mo for ram, whats the main bottleneck for the OS performance, would that be the fact that its a 1.2ghz(or 1.3 i cant remember!!) g4 processor or that theres only 256mb of ram... or option c , is it the 32mb video card ??
The major bottleneck there would the RAM and the hard drive.

You should upgrade the memory to at least 512MB or even better, 768 MB. Your iBook has 1 slot to put memory in (under the keyboard) and built in 256 MB RAM. Put in an extra 256 MB to take the machine up to 512 MB or put another 512 MB to take the machine up to 768 MB.