PDA

View Full Version : Convince me not to buy a PC!

timmytomtam
25th June 2009, 12:29 PM
Alrighty, so I'm thinking of buying a new laptop in the next few months. I'm after something with a bigger screen and better specs than the netbook that I'm using at the moment.

I'm a high school student with a part time job at maccas. Combine that with an iphone bill each month and a girlfriend and you see my dilemma - not alot of spare cash :p

So even if I save up some money for a little while, I will still most likely not be able to afford a shiny, sexy MacBook.

I know that PC's are big and ugly and heavy, but they are also cheap. I could get a PC that will suit my needs for around $1000 or less, whereas the cheapest refurb aluminum MacBook is something like $1700

So tell me - Is there really anything that bad about a windows laptop? (apart from the obvious "It's not a mac")

kevinnugent
25th June 2009, 12:32 PM
Nope. And for the money you have, I'd do the same.

Mac's are for people that can afford them....

mitty
25th June 2009, 12:35 PM
Dump the girlfriend and get a Mac instead.

Aaron
25th June 2009, 12:36 PM
Could always pick up a refurb white MacBook - wouldn't be more than $1300?

NeoRicen
25th June 2009, 12:36 PM
So tell me - Is there really anything that bad about a windows laptop? (apart from the obvious "It's not a mac")
Nope, although grab a Windows 7 Beta ASAP.

Macs are great, but if you really can't afford over $1000 and the PC meets your needs, no one would blame you for picking the PC.

timmytomtam
25th June 2009, 12:43 PM
Tempting.. but probably wouldn't go down too well :p

Could always pick up a refurb white MacBook - wouldn't be more than $1300?
hmm.. I forgot all about the white ones.. Could be a good option :)

Nope, although grab a Windows 7 Beta ASAP.

I've already got it :)
Needless to say, first thing I'd do would be to get rid of vista and install 7 ;)

ourfoz
25th June 2009, 12:43 PM