PDA

View Full Version : Powerbook 12" Decision

Nong23
19th June 2005, 07:42 PM
Hey guys,

After months of lurking, and my previous post discussing the 14" ibook, and now that its after exams i have FINALLY come to the decision to buy the 12" powerbook SD. A lotta people suggested the 12" ibook but combined with a fair bit of scouring around the net ( and I have a mate in my lectures who recently bought a RevC (essentially the same appearance/feel as the revD) that I had a play with) - I was Sold from then onwards :)

I'm a uni student so I thought i'd go the 12", and I wanted to get one before the move to x86 by apple! Its just that exclusiveness factor of the current line that pushes it over the edge for me! The EDU price also applies i think so the price is around 2400AUD.

Is a G4 based update due anytime soon on the current chassis? Also I was wondering what worthwhile options (if any from the 12 "SD base spec) is worthy? I'd have loved to add anothe 512mb ram to make it 1gb but it only has that one slot so It'd just go to 768. I may upgrade to 1.25gb later on :)

I was wondering, (iluvmymactoo especially :) ), is there anythign else that isn't in your review I might need to know? I'll be using MSOffice the most, and I prefer firefox as my main browser. For my mail, I'm not sure whether to use the Mail2 feature or just stick to thunderbird. Both appear very good! Anyone who has used Office, from a switcher perspective will it be difficult (or what am i to look for) when primarily typing in Msword?

I'm a first time switcher as well, and the powerbook wil be used primarily for my notes, web surfing, the odd MOH:AA, all my pictures, and playing dvd's and movies. I might do some editing and dvd burning later on down the track if i pick up my own digital camera or camcorder. I've had a look at the ARS article regarding switching, and the anandtech one, it seems pretty straight forward! I'll be connecting an external drive with all my media on it also!