PDA

View Full Version : Existing Data & Genius Bar



justjack
17th June 2009, 04:49 PM
Hi All,

HO HUM, does anyone have any suggestions / recommendations on what to do with your MBP before taking it to Genius?

I've got some issues with the lid not closing right, not waking up from sleeping & freezing that I want to get checked out... BUT... well... let's just say there are some "items" on my MBP that I wouldn't necessarily want some random Apple employee viewing and there are some "registrations" that aren't strictly EULA adherent.. :wink:

Do I need to back up & erase or can I go in as is?

Has anyone had to face this themselves & what did they do?

Cheers

mac_man_luke
17th June 2009, 05:16 PM
I generally image it off to an external + clean install or swap hdds

You never know if they are going to loose your data as well if you leave it on there

justjack
17th June 2009, 05:20 PM
I generally image it off to an external + clean install or swap hdds

You never know if they are going to loose your data as well if you leave it on there

Good point MML - thanks! I do use TM though - does that matter?

Image = ISO?

NeoRicen
17th June 2009, 05:22 PM
Good point MML - thanks! I do use TM though - does that matter?

Image = ISO?
Doesn't matter, just make sure that if for some reason the data is wiped of your computer you haven't lost anything important. How you do it doesn't matter.

As for them looking at the data, I wouldn't worry about it. Worse case scenario they post your info all over the net and you're in for a nice big court settlement. :p

In all seriousness, there's probably no issue when them doing anything with your data or even looking at it, but if you're really that concerned just put that data on an external drive/online and delete the local copy, and when you get it back just put the data back where it was.

Lutze
17th June 2009, 05:33 PM
Guess i'm more paranoid than you guys..

I create a limited user account - let them only see the basic Apps. stuff em!

justjack
17th June 2009, 05:37 PM
Doesn't matter, just make sure that if for some reason the data is wiped of your computer you haven't lost anything important. How you do it doesn't matter.

As for them looking at the data, I wouldn't worry about it. Worse case scenario they post your info all over the net and you're in for a nice big court settlement. :p

In all seriousness, there's probably no issue when them doing anything with your data or even looking at it, but if you're really that concerned just put that data on an external drive/online and delete the local copy, and when you get it back just put the data back where it was.

Thanks NeoRicen - it's probably more the apps & the annoyance of having to re-install (not that I have many mind you)...

justjack
17th June 2009, 05:38 PM
Guess i'm more paranoid than you guys..

I create a limited user account - let them only see the basic Apps. stuff em!

Have they ever asked for full access Lutze? Guess they'd have means to get in anyway with their god like password :D

Lutze
17th June 2009, 05:46 PM
Have they ever asked for full access Lutze? Guess they'd have means to get in anyway with their god like password :D

Nope. Never. Lets face it - if they really ever want to know they just stick it into target disk mode and do what they want.

But I've always found them to be great.

I once watched a training session in London Apple Store of Photoshop. The guy from Adobe that was lecturing started by asking who had bought their copy.

Everyone put their hand up... he laughed and said "you are all liars! We don't care - now.. who bought their copy?"

3 hands went up.

Nothing happened, the police did not jump down from the ceiling, the black helicopters continued to be out of sight.

justjack
17th June 2009, 05:52 PM
Nope. Never. Lets face it - if they really ever want to know they just stick it into target disk mode and do what they want.

But I've always found them to be great.

I once watched a training session in London Apple Store of Photoshop. The guy from Adobe that was lecturing started by asking who had bought their copy.

Everyone put their hand up... he laughed and said "you are all liars! We don't care - now.. who bought their copy?"

3 hands went up.

Nothing happened, the police did not jump down from the ceiling, the black helicopters continued to be out of sight.

PMSL - thanks mate

Beau
17th June 2009, 05:59 PM
Yeah, the lecturer at the Final Cut World Tour seminar last year made a joke about piracy; 'We've sold over ___ millions of copies of Final Cut... and those are just the ones that bought it"

justjack
17th June 2009, 06:02 PM
Yeah, the lecturer at the Final Cut World Tour seminar last year made a joke about piracy; 'We've sold over ___ millions of copies of Final Cut... and those are just the ones that bought it"

:p

Booked in for Sat morning so will see how we go!

El Guardo
17th June 2009, 06:53 PM
let's just say there are some "items" on my MBP that I wouldn't necessarily want some random Apple employee viewing and there are some "registrations" that aren't strictly EULA adherent.. :wink:

It really depends on what those 'some items' are.

Geniuses don't go scanning your machine for stuff you shouldn't have on it. They do all that is required to address the problem and move on. If you've got stolen music, naked photos of your girlfriend (real or imaginary) or programs installed that you haven't yet paid for, they don't care. But if you've got anything like child pornography then they don't have an option - it's a reportable matter.


Do I need to back up & erase or can I go in as is?

As someone who has just spent two full days battling a corrupt Entourage database and a client who (wrongly) believed Time Machine was a backup solution, can I encourage you to use either SuperDuper! or CarbonCopyCloner and take an image of your machine. I would then suggest you leave the machine as is so that the Geniuses can properly diagnose any problems that occur in the normal state your would be using it in.

matthewk
17th June 2009, 07:31 PM
In all seriousness, there's probably no issue when them doing anything with your data or even looking at it, but if you're really that concerned just put that data on an external drive/online and delete the local copy, and when you get it back just put the data back where it was.

There was a case in America of someone who gave their computer to a tech at BestBuy. The tech discovered child porn.

NeoRicen
17th June 2009, 07:32 PM
There was a case in America of someone who gave their computer to a tech at BestBuy. The tech discovered child porn.
Yeah... Best Buy.

justjack
18th June 2009, 09:59 PM
Ok - I don't have any kiddie porn!!!

I have a valid licence for Office and given how hard it was to get it working with work exchange, I wouldn't move it even if I didn't! :p

Thanks all; great responses :cool:

billybob
24th June 2009, 02:49 PM
lol, you think that's an obstacle?

How cute.

;)




Guess i'm more paranoid than you guys..

I create a limited user account - let them only see the basic Apps. stuff em!