PDA

View Full Version : Recording to VCR/DVD?



battye
17th June 2009, 12:15 AM
Occasionally I watch cricket streams on flash sites like Justin.tv, ustream.tv (Sopcast et al only work on Windows). I use a 2007 iMac (2 ghz Intel)... is there any way I can record what is happening on the screen to a DVD or VHS? (as I would put the stream into full screen mode)

I have a VCR/DVD (recordable) combo unit.

Thanks

dotnet
17th June 2009, 12:42 AM
Snapz Pro X will record video/audio off the screen. I have no idea whether an iMac will be able to record a fullscreen video that way. However, Snapz Pro X has numerous encoding and quality settings, so it may well be possible.

Quicktime in the upcoming Snow Leopard can record off the screen as well. Again, no idea how well that will be suited for your purpose.

Cheers
Steffen.

battye
17th June 2009, 04:24 PM
I was looking more for a software-less way to do it, that way I can do it cross platform if I need to.

What sort of cord/cable would I need to hook my iMac up to a VCR and record?

dotnet
17th June 2009, 04:44 PM
I was looking more for a software-less way to do it, that way I can do it cross platform if I need to.

What sort of cord/cable would I need to hook my iMac up to a VCR and record?

Oh, I see. There is a DVI-to-Video (http://store.apple.com/au/product/M9267G/A?fnode=MTY1NDA5OQ) adapter which is probably what you want.

Cheers
Steffen.

kaisersozay
17th June 2009, 04:53 PM
From your Monitor OUT on the rear of your iMac (hopefully it has one).
You need an adapter:
Apple Mac Video Adaptor for iBook, iMac, Power Book
this will give you access to a either an RCA male to RCA male then your VCR Video IN
or Video S
The audio is another RCA male from your Audio OUT to the VCR Audio IN
Next step turn your Mac OFF before plugging in the adapter.
Turn it back on and adjust your resolution to the smallest available (640x480 on mine) and it will show up on your TV screen (assuming your VCR is connected) as your Mac screen
Do what you want then... Hit the record button on the VCR when ready.
When finished, turn your Mac OFF before removing the adapter. When you power ON again, your original resolution should appear automatically.
Oh yes, if it is DVI then, as posted earlier adapter.

justjack
17th June 2009, 05:46 PM
From your Monitor OUT on the rear of your iMac (hopefully it has one).
You need an adapter:
Apple Mac Video Adaptor for iBook, iMac, Power Book
this will give you access to a either an RCA male to RCA male then your VCR Video IN
or Video S
The audio is another RCA male from your Audio OUT to the VCR Audio IN
Next step turn your Mac OFF before plugging in the adapter.
Turn it back on and adjust your resolution to the smallest available (640x480 on mine) and it will show up on your TV screen (assuming your VCR is connected) as your Mac screen
Do what you want then... Hit the record button on the VCR when ready.
When finished, turn your Mac OFF before removing the adapter. When you power ON again, your original resolution should appear automatically.
Oh yes, if it is DVI then, as posted earlier adapter.

Can I do something like this (in reverse obv) to capture VHS to my iMac so I can burn in iMovie?

dotnet
17th June 2009, 05:56 PM
Can I do something like this (in reverse obv) to capture VHS to my iMac so I can burn in iMovie?

Yes, as discussed here recently:
http://forums.mactalk.com.au/11/65379-getting-video-vhs-player.html

Cheers
Steffen.

justjack
17th June 2009, 06:07 PM
Yes, as discussed here recently:
http://forums.mactalk.com.au/11/65379-getting-video-vhs-player.html

Cheers
Steffen.

Thanks Steffen :D

~Coxy
17th June 2009, 06:41 PM
Oh, I see. There is a DVI-to-Video (http://store.apple.com/au/product/M9267G/A?fnode=MTY1NDA5OQ) adapter which is probably what you want.


This is for Macs with a full-size DVI port only. Mini-DVI won't work with this product, even with an adaptor, unfortunately.

dotnet
17th June 2009, 11:51 PM
Oh, does the iMac have a mini-DVI port? Why on earth, I wonder? It's not that they ran out of space on the backside...

Cheers
Steffen.

cosmichobo
18th June 2009, 12:40 AM
Is it just me, or is this whole video in/out issue on Macs getting absurd?

battye
18th June 2009, 01:22 AM
How do I know if I have DVI or Mini-DVI?

I don't have any other output options unfortunately.

Here is what the back of my iMac looks like:

http://images.amazon.com/images/G/01/electronics/detail-page/imac-aug08-ports-400.jpg

~Coxy
18th June 2009, 11:05 AM
Is it just me, or is this whole video in/out issue on Macs getting absurd?

I definitely agree that it's absurd, but I think the whole thing has been pretty unacceptable for ages now. Ever since ADC and desktop Macs using mini-VGA so they could sell you a $30 connector I think it's been one of the most annoying things about owning a Mac.

I loved the fact that my AlBook came with real S-Video and full-size DVI ports, AND came with free adaptors for composite video and VGA! These days though a MacBook "Pro" owner has to pay over a hundred buck to use his monitor, and it doesn't even work properly at that!


How do I know if I have DVI or Mini-DVI?

I don't have any other output options unfortunately.

Here is what the back of my iMac looks like:

http://images.amazon.com/images/G/01/electronics/detail-page/imac-aug08-ports-400.jpg

Yeah, that's mini-DVI. You need the mini-DVI to composite video adaptor, I think you can still get them from Apple.

kaisersozay
18th June 2009, 02:59 PM
You need an Apple Video Adapter.
http://bachbeautyclinic.com/images.2/M9319G_A.jpg
Not much chance of getting one from Apple
I have seen them for sale on MacTalk also eBay $20 or less.
I use this on my iMac, as I described earlier
I doubt that it would work in reverse. Software is required for VCR to iMac or any Mac.
I use Daystar Proview USB, an XLR8 product
Welcome to XLR8 Home - Mac Video and CPUs (http://xlr8.com/)

cosmichobo
18th June 2009, 08:27 PM
I definitely agree that it's absurd, but I think the whole thing has been pretty unacceptable for ages now. Ever since ADC and desktop Macs using mini-VGA so they could sell you a $30 connector I think it's been one of the most annoying things about owning a Mac.

Oh good, wasn't sure if I was being petty.

The 1993 Quadra 840av; Apple's first out-of-the-box "full screen" video capture/export capable machine, had composite RCA plugs for video in/out (and 3.5mm mini-din in/out for audio). Pretty sure this continued with products like the 1996 PowerMac 6500 etc. Nice easy to use, stock standard connections. Even my 2000 G3 Pismo Powerbook has s-video out.

These days though... there's all kinds of proprietory ports/cables/etc that Apple are using...

Is it really just for the "value added sale"?

cheers

cosmic

battye
18th June 2009, 10:28 PM
Thank you ~Coxy and kaisersozay. It seems Apple don't make it too easy... :(

How about a Windows computer with all of the typical output ports. What sort of cable would I need for Windows to connect a PC to VCR?

Thanks

kaisersozay
19th June 2009, 07:35 AM
Can't help with any PC comment, but I agree with cosmichobo.
It's the worst thing Apple have done (different connections with almost every machine) and not to continue selling the adapters beggars belief.
I couldn't even find one in a search. Almost as though they deny their existence.
Somewhere amongst my graveyard of Macs, I own an AV machine, but sadly it wouldn't upgrade beyond OS 9 (from failing memory) [my memory - not RAM].
So much for 'user friendly' but maybe 'think different' has finally come clear. Not too altruistic and maybe to value add for marketing purposes.

~Coxy
19th June 2009, 12:00 PM
Thank you ~Coxy and kaisersozay. It seems Apple don't make it too easy... :(

How about a Windows computer with all of the typical output ports. What sort of cable would I need for Windows to connect a PC to VCR?

Thanks

Most PC video cards come with "TV Out", which you can connect to a VCR.

Sometimes it is via provided adaptor, sometimes there's a S-Video connector straight on the back of the card.

battye
24th August 2009, 08:27 PM
I was able to figure this out, but only for Windows: CricketMX.com • How to record the output of your computer screen to your VCR (http://www.cricketmx.com/articles/read/how-to-record-the-output-of-your-computer-screen-to-your-vcr/)

Basically, you need an S-Video to RCA cable and to set the TV/VCR as the primary monitor in the display settings.

I will post back if I ever get this working for Mac, but Apple have made it hard by not including S-Video :) For live sports (which I needed it for) a Windows computer is better anyway, as the streaming software won't work on Mac.

Thanks everyone for the suggestions :)