PDA

View Full Version : OS 3.0 and Group SMS



mrbrut
16th June 2009, 09:34 AM
Howdie,

I'm currently trying to send a group SMS with OS 3.0 but as soon as I add more than one recipient it says at the top "Group MMS".
Now all I am sending is text and pre 3.0 this is how I would send a group SMS.

I have found that the only way for me to send a Group SMS is to go into settings and turn off MMS.

Anyone else experience this? As it's annoying to have to turn MMS on and off just to send a group SMS.

Alec Fraser
16th June 2009, 09:55 AM
Where are you sing group MMS? I've just sent a test group SMS and it came through as an SMS and I don't see Group MMS or SMS anywhere on the Outgoing screen

mallo
16th June 2009, 09:56 AM
Howdie,

I'm currently trying to send a group SMS with OS 3.0 but as soon as I add more than one recipient it says at the top "Group MMS".
Now all I am sending is text and pre 3.0 this is how I would send a group SMS.

I have found that the only way for me to send a Group SMS is to go into settings and turn off MMS.

Anyone else experience this? As it's annoying to have to turn MMS on and off just to send a group SMS.

FWIW I have the same issue,

Not sure what carrier you're with but I am with optus.

mrbrut
16th June 2009, 09:59 AM
FWIW I have the same issue,

Not sure what carrier you're with but I am with optus.

I'm also with Optus. Glad to hear I'm not the only one. I thought I was going crazy!

gikku
16th June 2009, 10:02 AM
same here, group sms sent/received as pxt/mms :(

shiny
16th June 2009, 10:22 AM
Same, but when I turn off MMS, it shows the group SMS I have sent as outgoing SMS. Switch MMS on, it shows them as a Group MMS?

Maybe a bug? :confused:

tonyberinson
16th June 2009, 10:26 AM
I am with Telstra and had no problem - tested by adding a pic - and it then went to saying Group MMS.

Might be just optus?

mrbrut
16th June 2009, 10:35 AM
I am with Telstra and had no problem - tested by adding a pic - and it then went to saying Group MMS.

Might be just optus?

It's starting to sounds like it's only happening to Optus users. I did download the updated carrier file from iTunes last night but hadn't sent any group SMS prior on OS 3.0 so I can't pin it on that just yet.

gikku
16th June 2009, 10:58 AM
It's starting to sounds like it's only happening to Optus users.

same behaviour on 3 also

Exocet
16th June 2009, 11:11 AM
Also on 3. Perhaps its the mobileconfig files to enable tethering? I've just removed mine and will see what happens after a reboot.

EDIT: Nope - removing the mobileconfig has no effect.

jusrus
16th June 2009, 12:24 PM
Also on 3. Perhaps its the mobileconfig files to enable tethering? I've just removed mine and will see what happens after a reboot.

EDIT: Nope - removing the mobileconfig has no effect.

Yep - all I've done is upgrade to 3.0 GM (no tethering) and it's happening for me. Started a thread on it yesterday.

http://forums.mactalk.com.au/31/66590-mutiple-mms.html

the_doctor
16th June 2009, 03:50 PM
I am with Telstra and had no problem - tested by adding a pic - and it then went to saying Group MMS.

Might be just optus?

This isn't the same issue that the OP is talking about.

I believe he is trying to send a group SMS and the 3.0 software treats group SMSs as an MMS.

mrbrut
16th June 2009, 04:20 PM
This isn't the same issue that the OP is talking about.

I believe he is trying to send a group SMS and the 3.0 software treats group SMSs as an MMS.

Bingo. Not trying to send any MMS just plain old SMS but 3.0 insists I send it as an MMS.

skm
18th June 2009, 10:47 AM
Whirlpool is talking about this too...

Does Group SMS = MMS? - iPhone - Whirlpool Broadband Forums (http://forums.whirlpool.net.au/forum-replies.cfm?t=1223400&p=2)

I think it's stupid. It's apparently a feature.

Complain to Apple: Apple - iPhone - Feedback (http://www.apple.com/feedback/iphone.html)

mitty
18th June 2009, 10:49 AM
Ironically, if the new Optus plans are true, this point will be moot anyway as you'll have unlimited SMS and MMS. Though it still sucks as some people even on other phones can't receive MMS.

iCameron
18th June 2009, 11:40 AM
http://img.skitch.com/20090618-nc24dq4smp6e2mpbn14pj76gqd.preview.jpg (http://skitch.com/cameronf/bwuj4/img-0010)
Click for full size (http://skitch.com/cameronf/bwuj4/img-0010) - Uploaded with plasq (http://plasq.com)'s Skitch (http://skitch.com)
with Telstra, not showing this problem. =D

Time to call foulplay on Optus' part. It seems that this is deliberate in the carrier settings in order for you to rack up more charges.

Exocet
18th June 2009, 11:47 AM
Happens on 3 which has zero carrier settings.

bacco007
18th June 2009, 12:13 PM
I had it on 3GM but now that I have DFU'ed and not restored it doesnt happen any more

BluMoon
19th June 2009, 11:29 PM
I had it on 3GM but now that I have DFU'ed and not restored it doesnt happen any more

Sorry can you please say that in english? ;)

Mecha
20th June 2009, 06:38 PM
Apparently it's cheaper this way as you only get charged for one MMS and its not effected by how many recipients there are.

I'll be calling Optus to confirm this.