PDA

View Full Version : Noob with a Powerbook G4

don2222222
10th June 2009, 02:15 AM
Hi Everyone,

I'm new to the forum and I just got a used Powerbook G4.

It seems to have a lot of bells and whistles, but I am new to Macs so I am still learning about it. I have a great deal of experience in other platforms, so it's about time I guess that I learn about the best platform out there.

It has a problem with battery life, and the power adapter needs to be replaced. I have ordered these parts already and made sure to buy only Apple OEM stuff.

With that said, I would be interested in any resources for learning how to maximize it's potential. I plan to start scanning the forum for threads that will help, but if you guys have info that I need as a noob, please let me know.

Thanks,

Don

don2222222
12th June 2009, 02:55 PM
Hi Don,

Welcome to our forum. It's cool that you joined us even though you're in America instead of Austrailia.

Most of us are really nice, but some folks won't welcome you because we are wary of noobs. I'm not though.

Cool about your new powerbook, good luck. You'll find a lot of neat threads here which I am sure will be helpful to you.

Cheers mate.

tangent23
12th June 2009, 03:33 PM
edit> i just got the joke now :p

delux
12th June 2009, 03:53 PM
Hi Don,

Welcome to our forum. It's cool that you joined us even though you're in America instead of Austrailia.

Most of us are really nice, but some folks won't welcome you because we are wary of noobs. I'm not though.

Cool about your new powerbook, good luck. You'll find a lot of neat threads here which I am sure will be helpful to you.

Cheers mate.

that made me LOL, good work on sounding Australian Don. Welcome:D

~Coxy
12th June 2009, 04:21 PM
A PowerBook G4 could be almost anything from an ancient 400 MHz TiBook to a 1.67GHz Aluminium model. Which is yours?

don2222222
13th June 2009, 05:22 PM
Hmmm, I don't know. Can you tell me how to find out?