PDA

View Full Version : Photoshop Psd Corruption



Disko
16th June 2005, 10:58 AM
Hey all,

Somewhere along the way, a psd of mine has become corrupt. Every time i try to open it, i get "this is not a valid photoshop document." It has changed icons from the adobe one to a preview one, and preview can't open it either.

This is my current working file, and I have done a lot of work in it - work i don't want to have to re-do. Is there anything anyone can suggest i do to recover it?

purana
16th June 2005, 11:44 AM
Does google search show any tools that might help? If not, I am guessing your out of luck, unless of course you have a backup.

darknight84
16th June 2005, 01:36 PM
there are program files that can help by doing a google search, but not sure if they are for mac.

Your using photoshop cs 2? if you are i hear there are a lot of bugs in that software. but not sure if its got anything to do with the corrupt file.


http://www.google.com.au/search?hl=en&q=ph...d+corrupt&meta= (http://www.google.com.au/search?hl=en&q=photoshop+psd+corrupt&meta=)

Disko
16th June 2005, 02:32 PM
Well, i tried this app (http://www.officerecovery.com/photoshop/) via VPC, and it couldn't fix it. I'm going to have to redesign it i think. :/

marc
16th June 2005, 04:21 PM
I'm sorry... I don't have any recommendations for recovery software, but I can offer my condolences. I've had files get corrupted but still able to open (usually happens with large files... some parts become hash), and I've had the occasional file die altogether.

I'm sorry for your loss :(

marc
16th June 2005, 04:24 PM
Side note: I still find myself saving PSDs and TIFFs for print work, and PSDs and PNGs/GIFs for web work... it can save you. Even if you don't have the layered file, a flat one can usually be *some* help.

konni
18th June 2005, 02:11 PM
Originally posted by darknight84@Jun 16 2005, 01:36 PM
Your using photoshop cs 2? if you are i hear there are a lot of bugs in that software. but not sure if its got anything to do with the corrupt file.
Damn. :( - I just went to the Adobe R/show and decided to upgrade. I haven't got the package yet but now I'm seeing all these negative posts/reviews about CS2.

snax
18th June 2005, 02:22 PM
If psd files get too large, occasionally they corrupt themselves. So the lessons here would be:
- Back up.
- Save versions, merge layers, keep tidy and slim psd files
- Use all of the apps in the CS suite. They work together.

marc
18th June 2005, 06:24 PM
slightly unrelated, but I've seen PS completely scramble TIFFs a EPSs 100s of times before when it's low on ram.