PDA

View Full Version : designer's new website - to flash or not to flash?!

Bexford
5th June 2009, 09:48 AM
Hi all

so...in a nutshell, it has got to the point where as a graphic designer, I am now bored with the look of my OWN website - so an overhaul and new branding needed!

at the moment - my site is predominantly HTML/CSS - with a couple of very small Flash elements to jazz things up a bit. but I am going for a completely different look altogether - and am now faced with the conundrum of it being a breeze to put together in Flash - will look GREAT - but what about the SEO aspect of things???? (although I know things are better now with Flash CS3 etc)

to be honest - I don't get a huge amount of commissions DIRECT from my site (prob about 25% of my total sales) as it's more my "window to the world" so am not overly concerned from that point of view...but would be great to find sme kind of middle ground.

as a designer, the way i market and present myself HAS to be good - so do I scarifice traffic for good looks???!

(as the saying goes, a designer who designs for himself has an idiot for a client!).......so any advice and thoughts would be very welcome......:)

cheers!
Bex

mac_man_luke
5th June 2009, 09:56 AM
Id stay away from complete flash site but use flash components where necessary.

Generally if i click onto a pure flash site, i pretty much click close straight away just because they are a pain to use eg no right clicks, no bookmarks, no forward/back buttons in the browser, no copy and paste (not a problem in your case other than say contact details)

banjo
5th June 2009, 10:11 AM
Generally if i click onto a pure flash site, i pretty much click close straight away just because they are a pain to use eg no right clicks, no bookmarks, no forward/back buttons in the browser, no copy and paste (not a problem in your case other than say contact details)

If you make sure that the text is selectable while building the site, then you can copy text no problems.