PDA

View Full Version : MacBook Pro display problem - help!



leoleakey
3rd June 2009, 09:20 AM
just got my mbp unibody but the the screen has been like the pic for three times in a day
should i take it back to apple store??
any help ? thanks
http://i42.tinypic.com/295v23m.jpg

http://i43.tinypic.com/1zgrt3b.jpg

Lutze
3rd June 2009, 09:31 AM
Take it back. Do not pass Crown Casino, do not collect $200.

leoleakey
3rd June 2009, 09:34 AM
:cry::cry::cry::cry::cry::cry::cry::cry::cry:

lazychef
3rd June 2009, 09:35 AM
I would vote Yes.

leoleakey
3rd June 2009, 09:37 AM
just show them the pics?

Lutze
3rd June 2009, 09:51 AM
You can, but I doubt that you will need to. Explain to them what's happening and they will take a look. If you are lucky and it happens in front of them they will probably swap it out.

leoleakey
3rd June 2009, 09:59 AM
but it's a refurb ,do not think they will swap
head to dancaster now

Lutze
3rd June 2009, 10:04 AM
They warranty every refurb.

leoleakey
3rd June 2009, 10:31 AM
at apple store now
em, so they swap me another refurb ??:)

leoleakey
3rd June 2009, 10:48 AM
i ordered 2GB ram, but the MBP comes with 4GB
and the guy said it can not happened , and i must upgrade the ram
now he is checking the ram at the back:)

leoleakey
3rd June 2009, 12:11 PM
they swap the ram back to "apple's 2gb"

kevinnugent
3rd June 2009, 12:37 PM
How'd you go??

Lutze
3rd June 2009, 12:38 PM
So the Guru thinks that the problem may be the 2Gb of extra ram?

leoleakey
3rd June 2009, 03:52 PM
the genius said so
will see if the pro will happen again

kevinnugent
4th June 2009, 05:57 PM
So, to translate, the machine had an extra 2 gb of ram that wasn't kosher and they swapped that ram out for Apple sanctioned sticks? So, now how's it going??

leoleakey
4th June 2009, 06:36 PM
em
until now all good

leoleakey
9th June 2009, 09:48 AM
returned the refurb
and order a new one :)

leoleakey
9th June 2009, 09:59 AM
anyone in melbourne want to swap the 2gb ram WITH my 4GB ram
the apple store only refund me the refurb price , and i upgrade the ram at apple store, can not get refund .
so if any one want to swap it, PM me today before apple collect the machine
cheers

leoleakey
9th June 2009, 12:17 PM
no one want the memory ?

Byrd
9th June 2009, 12:23 PM
Just go and buy some new RAM for it - it's hardly an expensive item to replace, and you get to keep your 4GB :) Go whatever the cheapest stuff MSY sells.

JB

leoleakey
9th June 2009, 12:40 PM
msy only have 2GB DDR3
do not want to return it back to apple :(
and the new one i orderd has 4GB
basically useless

ece_wisdom
12th August 2009, 12:05 AM
Hello,
I just purchased my 2.26GHz MBP about a month ago and I just started having these same graphical issues. I did just upgrade my RAM to 4GB of Mushkin DDR3 that I got from Newegg. I'm afraid I didn't quite understand what the Apple store said your problem was, OP. Did you upgrade your RAM to 4GB and installed incompatible memory? I could see this being a potential problem, as the integrated Nvidia chip does share memory with the processor. If so, is it indeed possible to upgrade to 4GB without experiencing any problems? Thanks.

mitch_n
16th August 2009, 01:30 PM
That's the same thing that happens with my MBP as I reported
here (http://forums.mactalk.com.au/24/70248-unibody-mbp-display-distortion-freezing.html)

Took it to Apple yesterday for a chat. They tell me it's the non-Apple RAM. I did ask why the non-Apple RAM would do this even though the RAM is the same spec, and that I have run Memtest and all comes up fine and dandy with that. The genius told me that apple's RAM is tested even more thoroughly etc etc. Their response was for me to put back in the apple RAM and test for one week and see what happens.

So, a little googling, and I found an alternate test. I have swapped my energy settings from Battery to High Performance. This apparently means you use the higher spec'd GPU rather than the low battery one. Will be interesting to see if this solves the issue. I did read on a page (that I can't remember the link to) that this has helped others...

simonm
17th August 2009, 04:03 PM
Looks fine to me! :D:rolleyes:

MissionMan
17th August 2009, 04:49 PM
That's the same thing that happens with my MBP as I reported
here (http://forums.mactalk.com.au/24/70248-unibody-mbp-display-distortion-freezing.html)

Took it to Apple yesterday for a chat. They tell me it's the non-Apple RAM. I did ask why the non-Apple RAM would do this even though the RAM is the same spec, and that I have run Memtest and all comes up fine and dandy with that. The genius told me that apple's RAM is tested even more thoroughly etc etc. Their response was for me to put back in the apple RAM and test for one week and see what happens.

So, a little googling, and I found an alternate test. I have swapped my energy settings from Battery to High Performance. This apparently means you use the higher spec'd GPU rather than the low battery one. Will be interesting to see if this solves the issue. I did read on a page (that I can't remember the link to) that this has helped others...

I had the same issue. Intermittent ram failure. It passed all the memory tests but the moment I replaced the ram I never had the issues again.

Apparently it relates to memory management on the ram. The apple ram has memory management, the non-apple stuff doesn't. Ram city have 3rd party ram that works well and doesn't have that issue so you're not forced to buy from apple, you just have to use ram that is compatible.

mitch_n
26th August 2009, 03:04 PM
Have been running on the high performance energy settings for over a week now, no display issues since...perhaps it's Nvidia and not the 3rd party RAM.

MissionMan
26th August 2009, 03:17 PM
I still had the issues with the high performance setting as well although it happened less often than the low performance one. You still expect it to happen about once every week or two after switching to this.

awuser896
27th August 2009, 03:25 AM
yeah man, take it back. those things are expensive to replace.

dekco
27th August 2009, 11:46 AM
if both graphics card is having problems then you better get it fixed whilst under warranty. afterall you wouldnt want to be stuck with a half working computer, and def not one where you paid a premium to buy in the first place