PDA

View Full Version : Wireless LAN project

decryption
13th June 2004, 09:34 PM
I have never used a wireless LAN before, so I may sound like a horrible newbie, but please, bear with me :P

I want to setup a wireless LAN for the purposes of:
Melbourne PubliC Wireless LAN
Swinburne Uni about 4km away
RMIT Uni around 3km away
Home network
Access to home LAN in park which is about 500m away

And I'd also have my wired LAN consisting of:
My desktop
Girlfriend's desktop
File server
Test/dev box
XBox

I've quickly drawn the following diagram to represent the network topology I think would be suited here.

http://opax.swin.edu.au/~240761/network.jpg

Would I need seperate antennas for each wireless network, or can I have the one

What would be the best way to go about this?
I think I can get away with a high powered omni directional antenna that would cover the area within my home and the park adjacent.

I assume I need a seperate network card for each network I want to connect to. So I'd need to consruct an AP with 4 network cards in it. Would that also mean I need 4 seperate antennas for each wireless card, or can I have one antenna for all of them? (depending on wether an omni would reach the signal I want, otherwise I assume I'd need multiple directional antennas).

But yeah.. anyone have any suggestions as how I should go about this or things I should read?

pipsqeek
13th June 2004, 11:31 PM
Althought something like this is possible. It will be difficult and expensive...I would only assume.

The gain required from these antennas would be huge...well, above the regulatory dB rating for private use.

Because of this, licensing will more then likely be requred.

The antenna will be large, expensive outdoors types and of course, security will be a major issue.