PDA

View Full Version : Flash Movies Run Slow In Safari And Firefox

daOutlawz
4th June 2005, 05:13 PM
Hey guys, I have a big problem, wondering if anyone knows a possible fix or something maybe I can enable.

Flash movies run extremely slow on my PB G4 1.33/768MB RAM/64MB GeForce FX/OSX Panther 10.3.9.

I originally thought it was just Safari, but I tried the same movie in Firefox and it actually ran slower. And generally all flash movies, or flash based websites run much slower then my older Acer Travelmate 360 notebook or my Desktop PC.

It wouldn't really bother me, but because I'm a web designer predominately developing in flash, its a big concern, and a big problem.

Is there something that I can do to fix this problem?

mvjs
4th June 2005, 05:23 PM
1. What Computer are you running these movies on?
2. Check the Quicktime/Flash settings in System Prefs. Set it to your connection speed.
3. Re-install Macromedia Flash

marc
4th June 2005, 05:25 PM
Have you looked at another mac running Safari/Firefox? Is it something that's just like that on OS X?

daOutlawz
4th June 2005, 05:29 PM
lol michaelvjsmyth, did you read my post properly?

PB G4 1.33

I just tried the quicktime settings in System Prefs and it didn't effect it. But I don't have flash settings there.

mvjs
4th June 2005, 05:31 PM
Sorry, Well I can't suggest anything else

daOutlawz
4th June 2005, 05:41 PM
I just reinstalled flash, didn't change.. :(

Although reinstalling it did fix Firefox, now both Firefox and Safari run at the same speed. Still slow though.

This is the site I am using to test it out, everything should be smooth.

http://www.in-senso.com/

Also my site doesn't run that smooth either, and it should, it was designed with 60fps.

http://www.mrpsolutions.com.au/

mvjs
4th June 2005, 05:57 PM
Its very smooth for me in firefox :) on the PC
I use Bigpond Broadband Cable
What do you use?
Have you tried on another computer on the same internet conection?

uncyherb
4th June 2005, 06:14 PM